Virgil Abloh : 7 Ways to Help You Be More Creative

Joe Chiang 江効儒
4 min readJun 25, 2024
photo courtesy of Harvard GSD
photo courtesy of Harvard GSD

1. What’s your signature

- Find it from your childhood

What’s my DNA? Every architect, designer, or artist that I look up to, in their early career to the end of their career, there’s basically a through line. So what I would challenge you in your work, is to go back to your earliest memories, find the way you organized your closet or the color you liked the most, back in the early days, before you learned too much, that’s when your DNA started.

photo courtesy of Harvard GSD
photo courtesy of Harvard GSD

2. Start your domino effect

- Force yourself to just do it

You can never predict what first project is going to lead to your dream job or career goal. Caravaggio was my domino effect. I was just really into Caravaggio. I hadn’t ever over…

--

--

Joe Chiang 江効儒

VFX. Animation. Film. Story. Music. Art | Co-founder @ Animapp.tw | Lighting lead @ https://digitaldomain.com | 特效. 動畫. 電影. 故事. 音樂. 藝術 | @ Montreal