My Five Minutes as Xena: The Warrior Princess

Joycelyn D Ghansah
2 min readMar 14, 2017

--

I had just confessed my undying love to my fifth grade crush, so why is he now screaming in agony on the ground, faced down, and surrounded by……

Well, let’s recap

Minute 1: I confess “I’ve loved you since the day you gave me your Cheetos”

Minute 2: He looks dumbfounded and begins to screech and laugh

Minute 3: He and his friend begin to point and laugh at me as if I was a caged animal at the zoo.

Transformation begins

Minute 4: *With the power of the Amazonian Warrior*

Minute 5:……….

You know the rest:

Boy cries

Girl screams, “ I’m a 21 Century woman like Xena and I don’t need you!”

Minute 6: *flips braids, and walks away*

Theme For March The Writing Cooperative Challenge: March is Women’s Month, just doing my part to showcase the Women Who Inspired Me

Week 9, Part of the The Writing Cooperative52 Week Writing Challenge, 😎

Joycelyn Ghansah is an ordinary woman with extraordinary ideas who is learning to find her voice through blogging about sexual health and hopes to open a conversation about sexual rights and taboos through her blog Can We Talk. You can tweet her #ItweetaboutAsianDramasALOT! #notsorry

--

--

Joycelyn D Ghansah

thinking, writing, trying not to evaporate and memeing online