Dear Parents: It’s OK to Sulk, My Guide to Besting Bad Days

K.D. Jokhu
4 min readApr 3, 2024
Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

There are some days I want to run away from my beautiful family. On these occasions, the home looks like it had been hit by a strong wind carrying crows, locusts, hail, and fire. It’s the days when my toddler refuses to eat, sleep or poop. It’s the days my husband would burst out of his office asking me a million questions about plans, appointments, or missing household items.

My home is usually always a mess, my toddler challenges most of my requests, and my husband just wants to make sure we align and I usually have patience with it all. Yet, some days, my desire to flee is red hot.

Now I know the attraction to escape dissolves quickly, leaving me wanting to return to my husband who I am so in love with, and my baby who I cannot live without. But I do need a break, and I usually coordinate with my husband to take one. However, sometimes it’s just not in the cards and I have to suck it up and brave the bad day.

Without a doubt, no one wants to become an irrational parent or partner. Here is how I navigate a bad day with my family:

Smile Outloud

Photo by Jonathan Daniels on Unsplash

--

--