Becoming a Dev: Week 1

Joey Leaptrott
4 min readApr 13, 2020

--

My first steps into the world of software development.

Photo by Safar Safarov on Unsplash

“What is the best way to learn to code?”

That was the first question I asked after I made my decision. This was going to be the rest of my life, after all, so I needed to set myself on the path that would yield the best possible results. But after talking to experienced developers and conducting hours of online research, I came to a shocking realization.

There isn’t one.

Traditional education facilities, online coding programs, accelerated bootcamps, or even just projects made while referencing developer notes, have all bred brilliant software engineers. The general consensus is (and if there are any veteran developers out that want to correct me, feel free) that the best developers are the ones that demonstrate a passion for the field. If there is something they don’t understand, or if there is something new to learn, they do their best to expand their knowledge and enjoy doing so.

With that in mind, I rephrased the question. Instead of asking “what is the best way to learn to code,” I asked:

“What is the best way FOR ME to learn to code?”

This question provided some needed introspection and made the decision process much less daunting. I reflected on what environments I had been an effective student in, then chose an option that was most similar.

Photo by Zach Savinar on Unsplash

I decided on Alchemy Code Labs, a training program for aspiring software developers based out of Portland, Oregon. There were several reasons I went with them, but the top three were:

  1. It was local and going to be in-person, which is the type of environment where I believe myself to learn best.
  2. Two of my closest friends have completed the program and could not praise it enough (this also meant that if I struggled with the curriculum, I would have two good resources to turn two).
  3. They dedicate a portion of the program to help graduates find jobs and have an extensive network that helps do so.

After officially enrolling, I joined the official Slack channel and met peers from current and previous cohorts (classes). The environment was as welcoming as it could be. Something amazing I saw within the first few hours was the genuine excitement shared by everyone when an alumnus announced that they got a job. It was unbelievably motivating, so I enthusiastically completed the introductory assignments required before the first day. Everything was going to be perfect!

Photo by reza shayestehpour on Unsplash

I would be remised if I didn’t mention how COVID-19 affected my journey.

In the wake of COVID-19, Alchemy made the decision to go from in-person to remote. I was disappointed, but given the nature of the situation, it was the responsible decision. But I started wondering if a completely remote learning environment would be enough for me. After all, getting to learn in a traditional classroom was my number one reason for choosing Alchemy.

After talking with my friends and family, however, I was convinced to give it a fair chance. Considering that I had never actually done a fully-remote program before, I figured I owed it to myself to try.

Photo by Tracy Adams on Unsplash

The first week of Alchemy was called prep-week. As the name suggests, it was a week of preparing everyone so that everyone enrolled would be ready for the ‘official’ first day the week after. This meant installing the necessary software on our computers and creating accounts for GitHub and Canvas. It also meant getting comfortable with the command console and learning how to navigate through folders, manipulate files, and upload to GitHub repositories.

After that, I was introduced to three coding languages: JavaScript, HTML, and CSS. To make it easier for me to understand, I liken these languages to the human body. JavaScript being the brain, HTML the body, and CSS the skin. Every project during prep-week used these languages to varying degrees to help get my feet wet, eventually culminating into a more complex project that involved user-input (you can check out that project here https://joleaper.github.io/madlib-march-2020/. Warning: it’s not that pretty).

Overall, I would say this week was a resounding success and washed away any doubts I had about the effectiveness of remote learning. What impressed me most was Alchemy modifying their curriculum so that it would work in a remote setting, and did so in a way where I could still absorb the material. And given the crazy state of the world, I am thankful at the chance to pursue my passion without needing to risk my health.

--

--