Jolene Sky
3 min readSep 23, 2017

Difference between Enjoying a Moment and Materialism

What is the difference between enjoying a moment and materialism? Simple, because our inner peace makes us happier than the egoistic accumulation of expensive materials or the volume of money in our account. It is not how much we have, but how much we enjoy that makes and brings happiness. I know many won’t agree with me, probable still running after money like crazy, I hope they catch up with it and beat the cash out of it for the stress and valued time wasted.

An ex-boss of mine once asked me, “What makes you happy?” and I answered, “to walk on the salty beach and to see the glowing golden sunset, for instance…” and he said “well, with money I can buy a house at the beach and can have all that every day”. That exactly is the point — he didn’t get it, and usually I don’t discuss with people, when I sight ignorance in their speech, it’s such a waste running in circles investing my precious limited time trying to explain my opinion. It is always better to simply walk away leaving them to their own thoughts and beliefs.

“It is not how much we have, but how much we enjoy, that makes happiness.” — Charles Spurgeon

So let’s see what I meant, happiness is not a possession to be prized, it is a quality of thought, a state of mind. I walk the beach, because I want to walk the sandy beach, to really be there alive at the beach, to smell the ocean, to look over the roaring gentle water, to step inside the cool salty water, sitting on the beach watching the wave while the sun set. It’s a stage of feeling to be there and to experience that. It’s a moment meant to be enjoyed in the present not dreamed about. There is no way to happiness, happiness is the way, just like a tourist who is not fixed on the destination but how enjoyable and full filled the journey was, so also is life and happiness.

He was thinking in money, to buy a house at that beach, to walk the beach every day. That is his goal, to have this house, to own that house. Until you are happy with who you are, you will never be happy with what you have. How long will it take? Couple of years, maybe or never? So he will walk his path dreaming of buying the house, while I simply go to this beach to enjoy the moment. Everyone wants to live on top of the mountain, but all the happiness and growth occurs while you’re climbing it.

“There is no way to happiness. Happiness is the way.” — Thich Nhat Hanh

Who do you think will enjoy the beach more? I, because it’s not certain, if he will ever buy this house and even if he did make enough to buy one, he might get bored someday, believing it was not worth the investment and maybe buy another in the desert to satisfy his current need. Doing what you like is freedom, liking what you do is happiness. And while he is still counting his money every day while I enjoy every precious moment for myself, seeing and appreciating the beauty of this earth, as the sunset disappears as I enjoy and watch from my balcony. Simple, we are happy as we make up our minds to be. Every day is beautiful.