The Classic: Why I Started Writing

The medium writer’s meta of writing about why they’re writing when they run out of things to write.

Joseph Low
2 min readOct 31, 2021
Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

Since I started putting out a weekly article, I’ve had this worry that I would run out of things to write. However, I know that at this stage while I’m still in the early stages of building a writing habit, it’s a lot more important for me to be consistent and to make this habit as easy for myself as possible. Forgive me if on certain weeks my articles aren’t as coherent or insightful.

I time-box myself to only spending a few hours on each article, lest I end up finding writing to be a chore. I would love to put out a lengthy, well-researched article each week, but my schedule and commitments simply don’t allow for it at the moment.

Then again, maybe by reading slightly less polished versions of my thoughts, you could possibly develop a better understanding of how I view the world. Hopefully, I can find a good balance between treating this as an indulgent personal blog and putting out writings that others can derive value from.

Coming back to the topic of why I started writing in the first place. There are two primary factors that influenced my decision to make an attempt at building a writing habit. I held the belief that by penning down my thoughts, I could become more coherent and structured in the way I think which would help me be a better communicator or storyteller. There’s also this analogy that the chronological sequence of your lives’ events has a string connecting them all in some way. By reflecting on my pursuits and opinions, I hoped to find the commonality between them and understand myself better.

Now having kept to this habit for almost two months, there’s one more reason to write that I did not foresee but will be the one that will keep me to it. That is, to connect with, and to learn from others. I’ve started talking to many old friends, distant acquaintances and a few strangers who reached out to share their thoughts on my writings. Often it's that they’ve found my article relatable or insightful, but the best conversations I’ve had are with those that reach out to disagree, discuss and offer a more nuanced perspective of a topic. This serves as a great medium to learn from others.

So…thanks for all the support and for following my articles thus far. Do reach out if you have any thoughts, I’m always happy to discuss them.

--

--

Joseph Low

I write once a week, drawing analogies between design, web3 and life| Podcast Host @ The Alternative Hustle | Blockchain Engineer@ GB | Design & AI @ SUTD