Bad Bosses vs Good Leaders: My Perspective

Jomar B. Colao
3 min readJun 3, 2019

--

As part of the leadership team, it is my responsibility to make sure I understand where I stand and what specific attitude should I portray to the organization. Aside from learning from my experiences, I also read articles related to proper handling of subordinates and dealing with my bosses. I’ve been through several bosses — from a boss who will always guide you to be successful in your chosen field and celebrate every single success to a boss who does not trust you and always see failures in you. It’s a fact that not all human on this earth is the same. The family, friends, and the society where we came from contributed a lot to who we are today. I am just blessed I came from a family and a society who always thought me to be always positive and always look for the best not only for myself but for everybody. An attitude and environment where negative things will not prosper over positive.

Leading a team is not easy. Having a bad boss is also not easy. What is a bad boss for me?

a. Someone who does not see any successes in you.

b. Someone who prefers taking credits than giving it back to his team.

c. Someone who doesn’t want that somebody in his team knows better than him.

d. Someone who tells his people what are his experiences and credentials.

e. Someone who is hungry of power and respect.

f. Someone who always think of firing people instead of guiding them.

g. Someone who always see failures over successes.

h. Someone who does not want to put themselves on their subordinates shoes.

i. Someone who doesn’t care at all.

Having a bad boss is one of the worst things happened to me. Also to be fair, I also learned a lot from them. It is just that it is not the kind of environment I envision myself to be with. Now that I am also doing a leadership role, I always make sure that I am not that somebody but someone who will inspire people both on their career and personal life. Respect is not something we can ask and beg, it is something that will always come from within. Instead of criticizing your people, guide and teach them then everything will follow. Know your boundaries and always push your people to be the best version of themselves. Always remind your people that it’s OK to fail for the first time, what’s important is learning from their mistakes and move on.

A good leader is someone who always looks for the best of his people. A leader who does what is the right thing to do and ask his people to follow. A leader who listens to his people. A leader who always stay behind his people in order to catch them every time they fall.

Take care of your people and they will also take good care of you.

--

--

Jomar B. Colao

IT Instructor, General Manager, magTinABANGay Founder, All About Cebu by Jom Founder