Responsible Elites

Jonah Bennett
1 min readNov 15, 2019

--

I recently went on the podcast Catholic Culture to discuss Palladium Magazine and some of my stream of consciousness thoughts on political theory, liberalism, geopolitics, right/moral intentionality, Confucianism, and much more. I decided to go on a Catholic podcast because it’s important to me to have pluralistic participation in as many communities as possible.

Podcasts are a good format for thinking out loud. I need to listen to the audio again, as I’m sure in the process I uncovered some belief in some background mental structure in my mind somewhere that I’m not actually sure about. It’s this process of excavation, which often only takes place through extended, stream of consciousness discussion, that is useful for refining one’s thoughts. To me, that’s what podcasts are for — not definitive statements, since the format is too extemporaneous, but rather for musings right in the moment that should later be refined, adapted, rejected, or updated.

I’ll probably post transcript excerpts here when I have some time. In the meantime, have a listen.

--

--

Jonah Bennett

Jonah Bennett is Editor-in-Chief of Palladium Magazine. Jonah Bennett is also a graduate student in international relations. Site: https://jonahbennett.com