One Thousand Books About Columbo

Jonathan Lethem
10 min readApr 15, 2022
courtesy of the internet

I tell my friends that I have become obsessed with Columbo. It is how I lately murder hours.

I tell my friends that I have become obsessed with Columbo and they confess to me or claim innocence. If they know what I’m talking about I’m free to let it go, make a few appreciative noises, tick off names of favorite episodes. “I went through the whole box set” someone says. The least that needs saying. I only suffer a throb of avarice that he has the physical object, a block-like trophy I can easily picture. Me, I have to peel episodes off YouTube TV, The Sundance Channel, I have to watch commercials to watch Columbo. I might have to kill them for that box set. I might have to kill them with it, then swab off my fingerprints.

Those who claim innocence? They’re the ones forced to listen.

Wikipedia: Columbo (/kəˈlʌmboʊ/) is an American crime drama television series starring Peter Falk as Columbo, a homicide detective with the Los Angeles Police Department.[2][3] After 2 pilot episodes in 1968 and 1971, the show originally aired on NBC from 1971 to 1978 as one of the rotating programs of The NBC Mystery Movie. Columbo then aired less frequently on ABC from 1989 to 2003…Columbo is a shrewd but inelegant blue-collar homicide detective whose trademarks include his rumpled beige raincoat, unassuming demeanor, cigar, old Peugeot 403 car, and unseen

--

--