Do I Teach English Online to Chinese Kids?

VIPKid Jon
3 min readOct 20, 2018

--

Photo by Khoa Pham on Unsplash

I looked just as confused as this little fella does!

How did this happen?

That’s the question I’ve been asking myself since September 28 2018, which is the day I signed my 6-month contract with VIPKID.

At first, I thought: This should be interesting (and lucrative!). Then, I thought: How can I possibly be hired as an online ESL teacher when I’ve never taught a single child in my life?

“fortune cookie” by Elena Koycheva on Unsplash

Could this fortune cookie predict my future?

Probably not. Mind you, I am still in grad school at 30 years old…

That said, on August 28 (exactly one month before I signed my contract), I cracked open a fortune cookie that read, “Money speaks a language everyone understands.” Sign? Coincidence? You decide.

My first class was on October 12. Here we are one week later, and I’ve taught 11 classes to 9 different students. Oh yeah, and I have 24 more bookings with different students for the remaining 11 days of October. If the trend continues, I expect to receive at least 10 more bookings for these 11 days.

That’s 45 classes of 25 minutes each (at 10 USD/class), so you do the math! Not bad for 18.75 hours of work in my first month! Did I mention that all these students might become regular students that book me day after day? It’s already happening with some of them! The possibilities seem endless.

“man in adidas shirt with umbrella walking in street under the rain” by Sean Foley on Unsplash

Why am I telling you my VIPKID story?

Because I want you to know that VIPKID is not a scam!

Because I want you to realize how much cash you’re missing out on, and how many awesome students you’ll never meet!

Because I want to help you be a successful applicant, while helping you save your time and money!

Deep down, it’s also probably because I could have used a VIPKID mentor while going through the application process.

I know some people who got to the contract stage within a week. It took me… ONE month!

I think VIPKID’s application process is great, mainly because it allows you to redo your Mock Class as many times as you need. BUT… If you try to gather tips from all over (like I did!), you are bound to get confused along the way. That would be a shame, because it’s not difficult at all to become a VIPKID teacher. The proof is that I am one!

“close up photo of blue desk globe” by chuttersnap on Unsplash

How can I help you be a successful VIPKID applicant?

I’ve been thinking about this question since I signed my contract.

I decided that the best way to give you all of my DOs and DON’Ts is by giving you my email. If you email me, I’ll give you all of my tips for your interview and Mock Class.

Most of my tips are based on actual feedback I’ve received from my interviewers. I had to redo my Mock Class three times, so I have lots of juicy information to share!

I’m offering to do more than just share my tips. I’m offering to be your very own VIPKID mentor.

What’s the catch? There’s none! I only ask that you use my referral link (or referral code) if you choose to apply to become a teacher. VIPKID pays incentives to teachers for their referrals. Helping all of you future VIPKID teachers takes time, so I think it’s a reasonable deal! Will you join me?

I’m also thinking about hosting a webinar in the near future. Let me know if you’re interested in your email! I look forward to meeting you, future VIPKID teacher!

My email is: jonathan.vipkid@gmail.com

— Teacher Jon

--

--

VIPKid Jon

Teacher Jon is on a mission to help future VIPKid teachers crush their application! WEBSITE: mailchi.mp/f2dbaf03d14b/vipkidjon 👈🧔👍 EMAIL: VIPKidJon@gmail.com