Elevate rather than divide

Jonathan Buso
2 min readJun 16, 2018

--

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, you know that words such as environment, humanity, elevate, patches, layers, behavior, culture are amongst my favorites to use.

Well, more precisely, not necessarily because I like those words, but more so because they are key components of my understanding as far as my values guide my reflections on how to make the world a better place for every single being on this planet.

Now, to the subject of this article, I would like to give you perspective on the way we approach “semi”-global & global issues

What I mean by semi-global is that it is occurring within a given culture but aren’t necessarily globally recognized as an issue because it is either a taboo or implicit. Take for example “gifted” people or loneliness.

It seems to me that, in any field, the way we conduct problem solving is always limited.

To me, there are multiple layers in a problem, and today, the way we solve problem is always at certain layer, never at the root cause, which in the long run, perpetuate them while only diminishing their impact.

Take for example using pesticides on fruits & vegetables instead of create an environment where insects don’t damage them in the first place.

It seems to me that this happens for two reasons, either because the problem solver is not competent enough to research the source of the issue, or because money prevents him from applying the right solution, being too expensive, therefore one of the values that guides the method is profit.

The pressure culture has on us to stay in the lines is tremendous, thus when someone succeed in breaking free from it, whether it is partially or completely — in other words, in a specific field or the entire paradigm — he is immediately put aside and labeled as different, instead of understood.

And it seems to me that, the more we progress, the more depression and isolation is created because we are forced to follow certain outdated rules that we don’t resonate with anymore, creating trust issues in relationships on a global scale.

What seems to be the best option, is to change the angle at which we look at things, go from difference to evolution, from division to unity, so that from the few, we can elevate the many.

The most efficient & quickest way to bridge the differences between us, is to see past them.

--

--

Jonathan Buso

I apply a global problem solving approach to the various issues that humanity face and share alternatives with ruthless honesty, for the wellbeing of all.