C|EH Practical Exam Review

Jon Helmus
3 min readSep 9, 2019

C|EH practical is an exam that evaluates the exam taker's knowledge on certain aspects of ethical hacking, by doing actual hacking challenges. Going into the exam I didn’t really know what to expect because I couldn’t find much information about the exam on the internet, so hopefully, this short write up helps highlight and displays some of my opinions and facts of the exam without leaking or disclosing any sensitive information to the exam itself.

Prep

Prepping up for the exam I didn't know what to do because there wasn’t much for resources on the internet regarding prep for the exam itself. There are a few Reddit forums here and there but not much so I really had to rely on what EC-Council displayed on their website and the domains that would be focused on during the exam.

Some materials I used:

  • VulnHub machines that focused on SQLi and steganography.
  • NMAP Cheatsheet
  • Red Team Field Manual
  • Real-World Experience (full-time pentester)

If you’re n00b1e, then I would recommend going through the iLabs that EC-Council offers. There are tools used throughout that course and the exam that you really can only get a full grasp on through EC-Council iLabs.

Exam

--

--

Jon Helmus

Student, Teacher, Life’r, Good-Guy-Hacker, Sloppy python-coder. See more: https://www.moos1e.com/