The Evos by Jcode

jcode
3 min readOct 11, 2022

As I explained in the last article, “The Evos” will play a key role in all my upcoming collections. They are the key to participate in the drops, let’s see how.

What are “The Evos”?

The Evos are utility-enabled PFPs which will work as one-time mint passes into my future drops. They have been generated in p5js utilizing only three basic geometric figures (circles, triangles and rectangles) and the color palettes of Evolution (hence the name).

All my future “solo” drops (excludes third party platforms, 1/1s and collabs) will be accessed exclusively by Evos holders. For each drop, holders will need to burn as many Evos as minting spots they would like to have in the next drop.

How will the burning mechanism work?

The main burning mechanism will be “Burn to Allowlist” — Before a drop, a window will be open to burn your Evo and secure an allowlist/whitelist spot for the mint. The total number of Evos to be burnt will be limited by the max supply of the drop, so it will be based on FCFS (first comes first serves).

Collectors will have to pay the mint cost, so the final “cost” to mint any future artwork in my collections will be “Burnt Evo + Mint Cost”.

How can I mint “The Evos”?

The Evos will have their own website for the minting (building in progress). Only current collectors of any of my collections or 1/1s in ETH blockchain will be able to mint them. A snapshot will be taken (date to be announced soon) and all wallets will be automatically whitelisted. Max minting will follow this structure:

  • 1/1 holders: 10 Evos per 1/1 in the wallet
  • WTF holders: 5 Evos per WTF in the wallet
  • Evolution holders: 3 Evos per Evolution in the wallet

This would put the total Evos supply at 1439 Evos, which will be rounded up to 1500. I estimate this supply to cover the next 5 to 7 drops.

I am conscious that not everyone will be minting the Evos so any unminted supply will be kept by me for future collabs, partnerships, giveaways, etc.

Does minting “The Evos” have a cost?

In the original article I wrote about the Jcode Universe, I announced The Evos would have a minting cost of 0.01 ETH. This price was meant to cover all the costs derived from setting up this system.

Well, I have finally decided to cover those costs myself so The Evos will be FREE TO CLAIM!!!!

When can I mint “The Evos”?

I am working on the website and the contract which I expect to be up and running by next week (week commencing 17th Oct 2022). I will then take the holders snapshot (TBA) and allow 1 week for minting. Once that time is passed, I will close the minting and any Evos that are left will be kept for future collabs, giveaways, community rewards, etc.

--

--

jcode

A visual artist using photography and generative art as mediums. Creator of With The Flow and Evolution collections.