Now I am just a man.

Jon Dishotsky
3 min readNov 30, 2015

--

As you read this, I have already stepped away from my primary career for the last 10 years, commercial real estate brokerage. I gave notice to Custom Spaces about month ago and I will no longer be finding startups cool offices, putting a period at the end of an awesome decade of ups and downs.

Why?

The answer is simple. I have worked with hundreds of brilliant entrepreneurs and found their secret super power was merely giving themselves a shot. And now the time has come when I want to give myself a shot at creating something out of nothing.

I live with my heart on my sleeve and want to put a stamp on the universe. This place will be a space to share the journey.

But first, let me give thanks.

To everyone in our business, it has been an awesome privilege to work with each and every one of you.

To the entrepreneurs whose great ideas came to life in the spaces that we found. To the ones whose did not. To all of the clients I have helped, have argued with, partied with, laughed with and cried with. I will look to you for guidance in the future.

To the people that have won business away from me and to those I have won business from. To the vendors I may have ignored and the few that helped make me look great.

To the ambassadors that I partnered with around the world when times were good. To the people who let me sleep on their couches when I had no money to afford a hotel but had a client who wanted to open an office in their town.

To the frustrated landlords who didn’t understand how to read a balance sheet and P&L of a new company. To the smart ones who “got it” and took a chance on many of today’s household names, that probably looked like a three ring circus at the time.

To my teams throughout the years. From the early days at Cushman & Wakefield, the Future Leaders group, the people who mentored me. You taught me the difference between good business vs. bad, and hard work vs. smart work. To the people I helped grow, for me it meant more than you’ll ever know. May you exceed me in every way.

To the Custom Spaces team. You’re #1. Ask around and reach out to Jenny and the squad if you’re looking for a new office, they’re the best in the biz.

Thank you to everyone who made me who I am today.

I close this letter with a heavy heart though I am cautiously optimistic. I am heading off to pursue some personal projects and continue exploring.

I will travel, read, think, write and come back ready to solve big problems. I am happy and healthy and hopeful about the future. I am free now and the only thing standing in my way…is me.

I was a middleman, now I am just a man.

Jon “Dshot”

--

--

Jon Dishotsky

Partner at http://Giant.VC Former CEO & Cofounder of Starcity (YC S16, YCGW19) (now Common)