Interview with my social skills mentor

Winston Jones
3 min readNov 22, 2021

--

By Winston Jones

The person in the picture above is my social skills and academic mentor, Ryan Wecker. He works for a company in Seattle called Enigma. The program’s goals are to help certain clients or students with disabilities, or social skills issues become more comfortable with themselves and gain more confidence, satisfaction in their life. He is very resourceful and has helped me through lots of good and bad moments in this past year! It’s a pleasure getting to meet with him and discuss how to get better and improve every day on certain struggles.

Interview Questions:

  1. ) What is your favorite Hobby?

Answer: I like hiking and Backpacking and getting to be outdoors

2.) What are your plans for thanksgiving?

Answer: I am going to visit family around Northern Washington

3.) How did you become a help to the enigma program?

Answer: I found the joy in seeing kids happy and enjoying life at their best

4.) Favorite Sport to watch?

Answer: Football is interesting, but Baseball is my favorite

5.) What can you help students with the most

Answer: Mainly social skills, but I am very good at helping structure a paper for writing purposes.

Ryan has helped me mentally and physically as a person and becoming amazing social support towards me. He means a lot to me and my life. Overall, he brings me lots of joy and happiness and I’m lucky to know him.

I appreciate all his hard work and love towards the very critical details we discuss it helps give me in every session more ideas and strategies to succeed mentally and physically through school, life, and sports. I think it’s very important to have someone so invested in you and your life, his helping me has made me feel more confident in myself and I won’t ever take back what he has taught me.

The more Ryan asks questions and wants answers, the more my mind is focused and ready for the task ahead.

The fact that he cannot only help with social skills, but with academics as well is a plus for my life and helps me benefit from things that you couldn’t get when you were a kid.

My goals are always similar to his, Without Ryan there’s lots of procrastination and poor decisions made by myself and it’s hard to keep on track with an assignment you held off till the last day, and cannot imagine what he must be thinking about my mind processing

There’s always room for improvement and I’m excited about my future ahead. There’s no satisfaction and end to a journey, that’s what makes goals and dreams come true. There are always going to be obstacles and roadblocks in your way to try and make you improve and prove others wrong, the way that you can handle those obstacles makes you a true warrior.

For me and Ryan, all those things apply and all of them are true. The mountain in order to feel accomplished never ends and there will always be challenges and roads to get you to where you need to go and that’s why I trust Ryan, is because he believes in the best ways to take care of yourself will get you to succeed eventually, plus it’s worth a couple of laughs and ups and downs.

Overall, there’s so much Ryan has included in his teaching and perspectives towards me and it has shaped me into a better person and helped get me this far. Without Ryan I cannot imagine how I have even done in school these past 4 terms, there’s no one like him.

Thinking back and reflecting on certain challenges faced, you get a feeling that you have some satisfaction, happiness, and gratitude for all the people who are on your side and help get you closer to this so-called “mountaintop”

There’s no mountain top in my mind, but there’s always a waypoint, where you want to be is where you’ll get with effort and Ryan has helped get me there, the job is not finished but cannot wait for the adventure ahead thanks to him.

--

--

Winston Jones
0 Followers

Really into sports, love learning about different cultures and figuring out how I can better help America Everyday! Love to be outdoors and to exercise tons !