Syndicate App: Automate Email Arrivals to Your Inbox

Jon Lunsford
3 min readApr 20, 2018

I recently launched a side project I’ve been working on, Syndicate App, a simple tool to automate email arrival to your inbox. It acts as an intermediary between your actual inbox and anything that sends email. You can think of it as a mask for you personal email with a bit of automation on top.

Creating Rules

Rules consist of a condition and a series of actions, whey your rule is run, all actions associated will be applied to the inbound email, then forwarded along to your real inbox.

A Rule in Syndicate App

Postponing Emails

I enjoy signing up for newsletters. The problem I had with this is, I’d always receive emails first thing in the morning, or at some point during my work day when I just didn’t have time to read them. Even though my mail client has a “snooze” feature, it has to be done after receiving the email, getting notified, and distracted. Now, I use my Syndicate App email address to sign up for everything, I postpone every newsletter until after my work day.

A Postpone Action in Syndicate App

Stopping Emails

I’ve lost count of how many unsolicited emails I receive from businesses either by direct signup, maybe through purchasing something, or ending up on a list I haven’t opted into. Unsubscribing seems to work most of the time, but there are some lists I just can’t get off of. Syndicate App’s STOP action is for this exact scenario, it allows me to exercise one more option, a last resort, if emails continue to arrive when I don’t want them to.

A Stop Action in Syndicate App

Forwarding Emails

With the ability to forward emails you can introduce a more granular layer of routing. Want emails from twitter sent to a different inbox than emails from facebook? With my Syndicate App email as the single public facing address I can route to any number other inboxes privately.

A Forward Action in Syndicate App

Modifying Headers or Parsing Email as JSON

More advanced features of Syndicate App include modifying headers, and parsing email as JSON. Dealing with emails programmatically can be troublesome, get any email back as JSON, posted to your webhook to process yourself.

An Add Header Action in Syndicate App
A To JSON Action in Syndicate App

--

--

Jon Lunsford

Engineer @convertkit, programming enthusiast, father, and musician