The Olive Trees in Gethsemane

Jon Scarborough
2 min readApr 1, 2023

Jesus in the Garden

Photo Credit: Don Knebel

Mt 26:36. “Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane, and He said to his disciples, “Sit here while I go over there to pray.”

Mk 14:33 “He took with him Peter, James, and John, and began to be troubled and distressed”

Lk 22:40–44 “When he arrived at the place he said to them “Pray that you may not undergo the test.” After withdrawing about a stone’s throw from them and kneeling, he prayed, saying “Father, iof you are willing, take this cup from me; still, not my will but yours to be done”. [And to strengthen him an angel from Heaven appeared to him. He was in such agony and he prayed so fervently that his sweat became like drops of blood falling on the ground].

Jn 16:28 “I came from the Father and have come into the world. Now I am leaving the world and going back to the Father.”

When I look at the pictures of the Garden of Gethsemane, it appears so beautiful and peaceful next to the basilica. A garden of massive trunked olive trees, yellow and white day lillies, red bougainvilles, and gravel walkways. It is difficult to imagine such a place the backdrop of Jesus’ pain and agony. The olive trees; I see old, twisted trunks, and I wonder if these trees might have been touched by Jesus.

--

--

Jon Scarborough

North Carolina Journal, contact: jonscarborough06@gmail.com. Write about the rural South, food, music, and a little fiction. Not related to P. Giamatti.