Which Phrases are the Most “ChatGPT” of All?

I analyzed 1.2 million GPT words to find the most common phrases output by ChatGPT — I found some crazy results.

Jordan Gibbs
4 min readDec 14, 2023

I did an experiment to identify some of the most common ChatGPTisms, and compared them to real human writing. The results are rather hilarious. Yes, your assumptions are correct. ChatGPT has some really annoying patterns, so let’s find out which ones are the most egregious!

How I made my dataset

My ChatGPT data was generated in the following way:

  • I wrote a GPT script that produced realistic user prompts that would likely be asked to ChatGPT (quite meta, I know).
  • I fed a list of 500 topics into this user prompt generator script five times (with a high temperature so there were no duplicate prompts) to get 2500 realistic GPT calls.
  • I fed the 2500 prompts into a new GPT function, posing as fake user prompts so GPT would answer “normally.”
  • I collected all these GPT responses into one text file, which is 1.2 million words long. I would have done more, but my wallet was bleeding…

Here’s a sample from this flow:

--

--