I’m using Coda to automate my job hunt.

--

Use Detail views to hack together little UIs for moving each job forward to the next stage.

I’m using Coda to automate my job hunt.

And a little coding, but not much:

  1. A thin Nextjs app on top of a Google Programmable Search that adds jobs to the Coda doc when you check its box.
  2. A Coda workflow for checking each job for 1st degree connections.
  3. A very simple application tracker, also in Coda.

I can search up-to-date jobs using Google’s advanced search query syntax, check them out, and add the ones I like to my application queue with a click.

The queue itself is broken into stages to make things easier to batch.

I’m using Detail views in Coda to hack together little UIs for moving each job forward to the next stage:

Checking For Connections: A detail view shows each company, and the jobs I’m interested in. A button opens LinkedIn search pre-filled with the company name. If there’s someone I should reach out to, I have a sub-table in the view for capturing their info. I can add more than one person and decide who to reach out to later, or click “Apply without outreach” to skip ahead.

Coda Detail View makes a UI for searching LinkedIn for contacts at each company, and saving their contact info for the next step.

Selecting Contacts: Another Detail view shows the company, the jobs, and the contacts. This view associates jobs to people. For example, if I know people and am interested in jobs on different teams, I can reach out to each person about the right job. An automation skips this step for any company where there’s only one option to reach out to.

Composing Messages: Probably the hardest step. When I have the mental energy for it, this step is where I actually unpack the person, my past relationship with them, the kind of role I’m looking at at their company, and commit to writing the actual outreach messages. Under the view, there are snippets for inspiration. Once happy with the result, I can click “Reach Out”. If I get writer’s block, I can skip the Reaching Out stage, and just apply.

Reaching Out: This is a Detail view of a person with a composed outreach message. There’s their LinkedIn profile URL, the message already written, and a button for marking it sent which moves all the jobs associated with that person forward to “Applying”.

Applying: Just a detail view of the Company name, the Job Title, a link to the application. It has two buttons, Applied and Expired, so I can get some stats on throughput and interview rates.

If you’re looking for a job, too, subscribe for more details!

--

--