Why ‘Jake from State Farm’ Had to be Re-Cast

Have you noticed the changes being made to commercials lately?

Jordan Fraser
Money Clip

--

Photo: StateFarm.com

Ever since the virus first confined me to my living room in February, I’ve done nothing but write, play games, and watch YouTube.

At first, YouTube remained the same as it always had with its endless targeted ads trying to sell me garbage.
But as the coronavirus pandemic spread into America, YouTube began to change.

The channels I watch are basically unaffected, but the commercials I’m constantly shown have changed drastically.

Photo by British Library on Unsplash

Marketing during COVID-19

In response to the virus, companies seem to be clambering to update their message for the times.
Instead of running old commercials while marketing agencies are shut down, they’re running newer, cheaper, homemade commercials that target what they think we want in this moment.

USAA has been making the biggest push into my regular YouTube viewing content lately.

--

--