Why I Started A Football Camp in my Hometown of Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Jordan Hagedorn
7 min readOct 6, 2017

When I was nine years old, I fell in love with the game of football. Brett Favre had recently become the quarterback of the Green Bay Packers and there was amazing energy around football in the state of Wisconsin.

My first Brett Favre football card

Around that time, I started playing football with the neighborhood kids and became obsessed with football cards. As my love of athletics grew, I felt a desire to contribute to the world of sports in some way. I didn’t know exactly how I’d do that at the time, but the more I watched the Packers, the more contagious that feeling became.

In 1995, Scheels, a sporting goods store, opened in my hometown of Eau Claire, Wisconsin and for the grand opening, Favre, the eventual 1995 NFL MVP, made an appearance. I skipped school that day, waited in line, shook Brett’s hand and got an autograph. I was the happiest kid in the world. I’ll never forget that day. It was a spark.

I remember being super happy to meet Brett, but I also remember seeing all the people in line and the way he made them feel after getting an autograph. It was a very meaningful experience.

With Trav at Lambeau Field — 20 years ago!

From that point on, every project I did in school was about football and the Green Bay Packers. My sixth grade teacher (Anna G.) recognized my love of the Packers and the following season she asked me and a friend to join her and her husband, for a Packer game at Lambeau Field on October 5, 1997–20 years ago today.

It was a life-changing moment.

An unforgettable day!

I vividly remember that entire day. We woke up early, got decked out in Packer gear and hit the road to Green Bay. My friend Travis wasn’t feeling well, but we made the most of it and he was a trooper, powering through for the sake of the Green and Gold. There was so much anticipation leading up to the game. Lambeau Field was a beautiful place and I couldn’t wait to get inside the stadium. It was hard to believe that Favre, Antonio Freeman, Reggie White and all of our favorite players were just feet away. It was such a memorable moment. That day, in the midst of their record breaking 27-game home winning streak, the Packers beat the Buccaneers 21–16.

The lovely Lambeau Field on October 5, 1997

My passion for sports continued to grow and eventually, at 22 years old, I took a job in marketing at a company called Eastbay, where I worked with over 150 pro athletes and a bunch of major sports brands. As I worked with athletes, I realized more and more the immense impact they could have on young people’s lives, including mine.

Now, 20 years after attending my first pro football game, I’m proud to say that I’m an NFL Agent and I’m very excited to pay forward my passion for and love of football to the next generation.

So, last summer, I started a football camp. I pretty much created what the 12 year old me would have absolutely LOVED when I was a kid! Day 1 was a football camp led by Badger Legend and former NFL running back Brian Calhoun and Day 2 was a speaking engagement hosted by Eau Claire sports legend Bob Bradovich. The day featured stories from Calhoun, Packer Legend and Super Bowl Champion Linebacker George Koonce, along with a very bright local high school coach Mike Sinz.

With Calhoun and Koonce sharing stories

I started the camp because I feel it’s important to honor my roots and the people who contributed to helping me along the way. The camp in Eau Claire sets out to achieve four main things:

  1. To create something unique that gives the youth an opportunity to be active and learn new things while having fun.
  2. To give back to my hometown and a place that has shaped my life, my thoughts and my education.
  3. To inspire people, young and old to dream big and to let them know if they follow their heart and work their butt off, they can achieve anything they set their mind to.
  4. Most importantly, to connect with like-minded people. Everyone needs love and positivity in their life and there’s no better way to obtain that than connecting with awesome people.

I hope this camp can be a similar spark to when I met Brett Favre!

So grateful for everyone’s love and generosity!

As the camp took shape in early 2017, I knew we’d need to raise some funds, so I took to Indie Go Go. After launching the campaign, some truly incredible people showed a massive amount of support that I was, and still am seriously humbled by. With a goal of $5,000, 49 people contributed, raising $5,195 to make the camp a reality. Amazing! Thank You all so much!

I can’t thank my parents enough, who have been so supportive throughout my entire life. They’ve been so generous with their many contributions over the years. They are the best.

My hero and Dad. An all-time great.

My Grandpa Larry, who was my biggest supporter and believed in me more than anyone sat front row at the speaking engagement on June 11th and passed away 9 days later. He had a great love of football and the camp will continue on to honor his life and passion for giving. Thank You to those who donated to the Boys & Girls Club his name!

Larry Legend — one of my biggest supporters!

Visit Eau Claire, led by my friend and supporter Linda John was very generous and helpful throughout the entire event process and their team is an amazing asset to the Eau Claire area. Their passion for Eau Claire is second to none and I couldn’t be more happy with the insight they shared and their unconditional support. Their contribution allowed us to get some great camp gear and other crucial items which made things much less stressful and made everything much more fun.

A huge thank you goes out to all of the other awesome contibutors. There were so many people that were a part of making this special!

The likes, comments, shares, kind words and meaningful messages from everyone around the camp and my football career continue to fuel my desire to keep going.

Big shout out to local sports legend Bob Bradovich who hosted the speaking engagement and has believed in me from very early on and has continued to share my story and show support. Joe Ziemer from the local newspaper, the Leader Telegram, has shared my story and been a big advocate of spreading the good word in the Chippewa Valley. You guys are the best.

Local love!

I believe learning, inspiration and love play a major role in an individual’s success. So many teachers, coaches, mentors and friends in my life over the years that have been influential in shaping the way I carry myself and have taught me how to treat others, how to work hard, and how to pay knowledge, passion and love forward. I can not thank them enough. It’s people like that who have played instrumental roles in my life and that inspire me to try to make the world a better place.

I have so much gratitude for my amazing friends who coached and truly made the First Annual Wisconsin Legends Camp a huge success: once again Brian Calhoun, my best buddy James Lokken, Milker, Travis and Sean Shipman, Keith Turner, Uncle Pete, Jerim, Pig, Seany, Sessionowski and Chad. You all helped make for an incredible weekend all around! It was such a humbling experience to see everyone together having fun.

June 10, 2017 in Eau Claire — Amazing group of LEGENDS!

With such generosity, you’ve all made a lot of people very happy and have allowed us to create something special for Eau Claire area kids and parents and have contributed to the lives of these awesome kids who we hope to inspire to make a great life for themselves. I believe this will be one of the most impactful things I will ever do in my life and I‘m so grateful to be able to share it with all of you! My heart is full and the future is bright!

To top off thanking everyone for the football camp experience and the 20th Anniversary of attending my first Packer game, earlier this week, my client, Chiefs’ Kicker Harrison Butker kicked the game-winning field goal on Monday Night Football in his NFL debut! It was an amazing moment and I’m so happy for Harrison and his loved ones. He works super hard, is extremely humble and is a dream client.

Harrison kicking on Monday Night Football

In the case of the football camp, the phrase, “It takes a village!” could not be any more true. It was hectic to organize, but it was worth every hour of work and every ounce of sweat. I speak for everyone involved when I say we can’t wait for next year’s Wisconsin Legends Camp! THANK YOU ALL!

Much Love,

Jordan

--

--