Q and A with Actor Jose Rosete

Jordan Thomas
3 min readDec 9, 2023

--

Recently I emailed some questions to Actor Jose Rosete about his life and acting career. Here are the responses to the questions. I hope you enjoy reading this blog post.

Where were you born, what school did you attend

I was born in Mesa, Arizona. I grew up in South Chandler, Arizona. I graduated from Chandler High School, class of 94'.

what acting training or classes did you take before going into acting

They’re not worth mentioning but the first one was a basic introduction, basically to break the ice. I was extremely shy and bashful as a kid and have a pretty bad stutter/mumble issue didn’t make things any better. I did take another class early on for scene study. I learned very early on that being on set, experiencing everything first hand, was the best classroom.

what inspired you to be an actor, what actors did you look up to for inspiration.

I mentioned my stutter which led to me not being the most social person, even though I was so envious of people who made interacting with others look so easy. I heard once at a young age that being an actor meant being able to stop being you and becoming someone else. That always stuck with me. Honestly, I was getting tired of Jose and the idea of becoming someone else sounded better and better the more I thought about it. Haven’t stopped thinking about it since. The challenge of becoming someone else who doesn’t and can’t stutter became the pursuit of my dream, the only dream I ever had. I always appreciated the smaller supporting characters in film and television. The lead roles were fine but I got a kick out of someone who wasn’t a big start holding their own and even stealing the scenes they were in. I didn’t know their names at first but eventually would. Actors like, Don Cheadle, John C. Reilly, James Woods John Leguizamo and Luis Guzman. My favorites of all time are Sean Penn, Eddie Murphy and I’d have to throw Mr. Eastwood in there as well.

what are your favorite movies or television projects have your favorites thorough your career.

One of the most memorable is definitely “MONSTERS OF MAN” that I shot in Cambodia with Mark Toia (R.I.P.) and it’s available now www.monstersofman.movie Working with Avi Youabian is always first class. I did a Tom Clancy short film with him as well as “THE WALKING DEAD: RED MACHETE” for AMC and it aired along with the show. Anything with humor like the HUMAN COCK FIGHTING sketch I did with COMEDY CENTRAL was a blast. I love commercial opportunities with edgy humor. I have a comedy coming out next year that I shot in Norway. One of my favorite roles!

what are your hobbies or interests outside the profession of acting.

It needs to be something do do with physical activity. The older I get, continuing to challenge myself physically and mentally is crucial. Eating clean, working with weights and getting cardio in makes the mental part of everything fall into place. Hiking is definitely a must for me.

where do you see yourself or your career 10 years from now

Good question. I’d hope to be in great health first and foremost. I’d love to have as many loved ones still here with me to spend time with. Career wise, continuing to cross paths with amazing and talented people who offer amazing and challenging opportunities so I can enjoy every second of my journey.

what advice would you give to an aspiring actor who aspires to be in the performing arts.

Don’t worry about what you can’t control. Embrace what you bring to the table, especially appearance wise. Realize that this business can turn into quite the marathon and that’s ok. Make sure you’re getting into a business constantly surrounded with rejection for the right reasons. In my many years about 85% of the people I’ve crossed paths with want to be famous, the rest of actors. Nothing wrong with wanting to be famous, my dream was always to be a comfortable working actor.

You can follow Jose Rosete on Instagram www.instagram.com/actorjoserosete

Website : www.joserosete.net

Photo Courtesy of Jose Rosete

--

--

Jordan Thomas

Morgan State University School of Global Journalism and Communication Grad. Former Intern WEAA 88.9 Former Intern Technically. Email: jordanthomas36@yahoo.com