Jordie Marie
2 min readJul 28, 2017

A Letter to my Cousin — The Bride:

Dear Kelsey,

Growing up with you by my side has been truly an honor. To play with, to laugh with, and to learn from. Having a best friend so early in life is an indescribable blessing. We were making memories before we could even remember we made them. Theater, family vacations, sleepovers, doggy roasts, the lake house, school dances, choir trips you name it. For every big milestone in my life you were there, giving me unconditional love and support.

Since I was little I’ve watched your display of kindness, strength, grace, and perseverance. Navigating your way through the highest of highs and lowest of lows, I’ve admired you. You never once hesitated to hold my hand, to act silly with me, or to dry my tears. We have been knit together by over 25 years of silly dance moves, bad jokes, doughnut parties, backseat road trips, and pure love for one another. Because of you I have a forever best friend and a role model who has taught me much of what truly matters in this life. You helped to shape me and have grown with me through the calms and the storms. I can always count on you to stand beside me through life.

And now, here on your wedding day I stand with you. As you embark on this amazing journey of commitment and love. I will hold your hand knowing how often you have held mine. Happily creating another memory by your side. I know that this will be a beautiful adventure with the new title of wife and that you will be absolutely amazing. May your compassion shine throughout your marriage and your joyous spirit bring light to every day the two of you spend together.

Congratulations on your special day! Soak up and enjoy every wonderful moment. Wishing you a marriage overflowing with joy, happiness and love. I love you to the moon and back!