The Good. The Bad. The Ugly.

Jordon J. Will
9 min readSep 25, 2016

--

I think it’s only fair that I broadcast my love for the Lakers. It’s the least I can do before we get started on this adventure. When I say I love everything about that prestigious organization, I mean every. single. thing.

Kobe and Shaq after capturing their first title in the “3Peat”

From the 16 NBA titles to the immense hate that’s endured while being apart of Laker Nation.

BUT,

that is why these past 5 seasons have been tough to swallow.

The Good Times

The Lakers were just fresh off a “2peat” (winning the NBA Finals in back-to-back years). We practically ran the Western Conference- 3 time defending champions prior to the ‘11 season.

Bean (As I, and many other Laker faithfuls, like to refer to Kobe) was KING of the basketball world.

that kid from Akron, Ohio not far behind…

staking his claim at basketball royalty by capturing his 5th NBA title; now comfortably sitting at the table with Laker Great: Magic Johnson (5 rings) and the Bull from Chicago: Michael Jordan (6 rings).

Pau Gasol was proving to be a sufficient replacement for Shaq as Kobe’s partner in crime.

The winningest coach, in terms of titles that is, was leading the cavalry into battle every game- The Zen Master: Phil Jackson.

The Downfall

  • Western Conference Semifinals of the 2011 Playoffs.
  • Mavericks vs. Lakers.
  • Dirk vs Kobe.

You can say… I was geeked. hyped. ready to go.

I hated everything about Dallas. I hated their obnoxious owner. You know the man… Mark Cuban. Phenomenal business man but sheesh, was he a headache when it came to the game. I hated their fans; this was a rivalry.

That excitement and hunger I was feeling? Yeah it was short-lived. When I say the Mavs smacked the Lakers in the mouth from jump… I mean SMACKED!

And, not only did they prove to be the superior team… they swept us in the process. They absolutely destroyed the team I loved by 36 points (122–86).

It was downright embarrassing. I remember Andrew Bynum expressing how most of us felt at that time by clotheslining Mavericks spark-man and guard, JJ Barea, in mid-air.

In all honesty though, that was the highlight of the whole series for me. I secretly enjoyed it. Call me sick, I call it being extremely invested in my team. There was no way in hell that we were going to leave quietly. These are The LA Lakers we are talking about; everything is a show.

It was just hard for me to digest. I didn’t want to believe it. We were supposed to 3peat…

Boston had already stalled this before by defeating us in 6 games in the ‘08–’09 NBA Finals.

Deep down I knew it was just the beginning of the downfall; it was a foregone conclusion that the Buss family and Mitch Kupchak were going to blowup the team in the following years.

  1. Jackson had already reiterated that it would be his last season prior to the playoffs.
  2. former Sixth Man of the Year and Laker fan favorite: Lamar Odom was traded to Dallas.
  3. high-flyer: Shannon Brown would not be returning.
  4. co-captain and lieutenant: Derek Fisher would leave the following season.
  5. And last but not least, Luke Walton left the following season as well (we learned he could not stray away from the Purple and Gold forever though).

There was a brief moment of optimism and excitement when the Lakers’ front-office somehow managed to land the “dominant” big man Dwight Howard and effective but aging point guard Steve Nash in two separate trades.

Although, this still did not make up for the league’s veto of the Chris Paul trade to the Lakers back in 2011. David Stern cited “basketball reasons” as to the reason why the trade was voided. A bunch of bullshit if you ask me.

Expectations for the upcoming season were at an all-time high. Media outlets were dubbing this the new “Superteam.” Some analysts even had Kobe meeting up with LeBron in the long awaited NBA Finals; they could not have been more wrong.

Dwight’s Disappointment.

Dwight could not have came to a more demanding organization in terms of expectations for “Big Men”. Wilt Chamberlain, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Shaquille O’Neal, and George Mikan are some of the notably GREAT ones. They are probably in most people’s top ten (Centers) of all time truth be told.

But, from the very beginning it did not seem to work. Dwight’s lack of hunger and “happy go lucky” approach to the game did not mesh well with Kobe Bryant’s killer mentality at all.

Dwight felt entitled, wanted the torch passed to him before he put a banner up in the rafters. It sickened Kobe, it sickened me, it sickened everybody.

Steve Nash did not help either. The former 2-time MVP battled injuries and old age as he only managed to play 65 games in his brief stint with the team.

Although, we managed to qualify for the playoffs that season, Kobe suffered a torn achilles heel and the rest of the Lakers were tasked with defeating another team from Texas: the San Antonio Spurs.

Proving what everyone initially believed, we were bounced from the playoffs and swept once again… failing to reach the playoffs ever since.

The Now

Following the tenures of Lakers’ head coaches, or lack of coaching thereof, Mike Brown, Mike D’Antoni, and my personal “favorite” Byron Scott...

Kobe Bryant announced his plan to retire after the 2015 season. The death of the greatest owner in sports history (subjective?), the late great Jerry Buss, and the handling of the organization by his children definitely played a part in the dismal end to Kobe’s career and the lack of success with the team in recent years.

The Lakers have reached rock bottom like NEVER before… uncharted territory.

HOWEVER, the future is bright. Very bright.

Luke Walton

Walton has agreed to coach my boys back to greatness and I could not be happier.

Luke has always had that Student of the Game mentality. Very intelligent and has always known how to get the best out of his teammates. Something backed by Kobe.

Plus, Walton is not only a player’s coach but a friend before anything. I think that is a very underrated aspect in coaching because you can yell and call plays all you want, but if you do not know HOW to talk to your players and develop some type of relationship… well, then I think you are destined to fail. Coach K, Pop, and Maddon are among the few GREAT ones who carry this distinct trait; I believe Luke will be there someday as well.

Let us take a look at who Luke has at his disposal.

D’Angelo Russell

6'5 PG, crafty-lefty, and former number 2 pick from THE Ohio State. I think… matter fact I KNOW that this kid is destined for greatness.

Not only did he perform in a season where Kobe’s departure was the main story-line, but he also managed to deal with an ego driven head coach. People were expecting the kid to come out and average 18 a game, but let us be REAL… it was Kobe’s season and rightfully so. But despite all of that, he still managed to score a career high 39 points against the Nets (most by a Laker’s rookie since Elgin Baylor. Yes, you read that correctly. Not Magic, not Kobe, but D Russ) and most threes in a season by a Laker’s rookie.

He is also the youngest player in NBA history to sink at least 120 three pointers in a season.

The kid was 19 years old at the start and 20 for the reminder of the season. I think that is impressive in itself!

Brandon Ingram

Current number 2 pick of the 2016 NBA Draft and two way SF.

Alright folks, when I say this kid is a straight baller… I mean baller. For much of his short career (high school and college that it is) he has been compared to Kevin Durant. That may be a huge burden to put on a 19 year old but MAN, his play speaks for itself!

6'9 and long. Can shoot and score with the best of them. Lanky. Quick. Great ball-handling. But, I think a very underrated aspect of his game is his DEFENSE! Dude blocks shots, can defend basically 1–4 and moves his feet. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for this young man.

Julius Randle

This one is an interesting case. Randle has not really found his “true” position on the court to me, and I believe that is where Luke comes in.

He can dribble. Passing is surprisingly decent. A bull when he drives to the basket. Rebounds like a man possessed. Sound familiar? I get the impression that he can play a Draymond Green-esque role. One can only hope right? Ha.

Jordan Clarkson

The soon to be third year SG out of Missouri has been nothing but consistent. He can practically do everything. Energizer bunny. And, there are rumbles that he has been developing a more reliable 3 point shot this off-season. Are the Lakers on the verge of their own “Splash Bros” in Russell and Clarkson?

Larry Nance Jr.

The second year man out of Akron made a name for himself last season as the high flyer who could do it all. He was initially our garbage man, but a very efficient one. Decent jump shot and plays GREAT defense. I honestly think he can take Julius’ spot if Randle does not take a big leap in his game soon; Nance is here to stay.

The Others

The rest of the squad. Lou Williams, 7-footer Ivica Zubac, Anthony Brown, reliable vet and mentor Luol Deng, Timofey Mozgov, Jose Calderon and etc. offer some very interesting pieces for Luke to play with and put the best product on the floor.

There is a lot to be excited about Laker Nation. Something we couldn’t say just a few years ago.

I would like to leave you guys on this note..

Everything negative — pressure, challenges — is all an opportunity for me to rise. -Kobe Bryant

That’s how I view this Lakers team. What we’ve endured these past few seasons is only gearing us up for something special in the future. I know it. Never give in and never give up to whoever is reading this, Laker fan or not.

But, I think I have taken more than enough of you guys’ time. I really appreciate the read. Feedback definitely welcomed! First of many. Love!

Jordo Will out!

If you have any comments, questions, or simply want to look at more material of mine then just check me out on my other social media sites!

--

--