Values

Joseph Akayesi
2 min readJun 28, 2022

--

Photo by Imani Bahati on Unsplash

The more I reflect, the more I find that human values will take one further than money ever will.

What do I mean by values?
The sum of qualities of humanity.

Love, kindness, compassion, honesty, fidelity, empathy, etc.
Everything that is on the opposite spectrum of the seven capital sins including all of its derivatives.

When people say, “Money can buy happiness”, what I think they mean, or at least what I hear is: Money is important in modern life, and if so then I can agree to a large extent.

Of course, there are many unhappy rich people and there are many sad less-fortunate people, but the converse is true also.
I’ll be a hypocrite to say that money is not important but I’ll also be lying if I say that money is the most important.

I think that excessiveness is the evil here.
Although we must work to earn a living, it must be in its capacity.

The way we can advance ourselves and humanity is by not forgetting what it is to be human. Plant your feet in these virtues as you move forward in life and your career.

In my opinion, these are the things that set you on the path to true success.

We cannot go in search of a wholesome life whilst forgetting our innate selves. Our spirituality.

--

--