7 things I learnt about code review in 2021

Nwanna Joseph
2 min readDec 30, 2021

As I continue my journey to be a better software programmer, I’ve realized how important code review is and how I benefitted from it. Here, I’m sharing the secrets that I’ve learnt.

Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash
  1. Learn : Code reviews helped me to learn from my colleagues . It upgraded my “code thesaurus”, making me dynamic and efficient.
  2. Protects your work : Some of the incoming changes that could negatively disrupt the features that I was working on were spotted and resolved immediately.
  3. Protect the CI/CD pipelines: Some of the incoming changes had bugs that would be missed by CI/CD build pipelines. Code reviews helped to prevent the code from being sent to the pipeline.
  4. Improve standards: Due to tight deadlines, there’s a tendency to write hacky codes. Hacky codes aren’t intuitive at first glance. With code reviews, getting the programmer to break down the code into intuitive chunks helped a lot.
  5. Architecture analysis: As the codebase of a project gets bulky, some of the initial methodologies and principles become unsuitable for the overall performance and design. Code review has helped me to identify these situations and initiate proper resolutions.
  6. Reusability: With code reviews, I’ve spotted functions that I can simply use rather than reinventing the wheel. This has saved me some time and makes it easy to rely on their unit tests.
  7. Knowledge transfer: I’ve been able to continue from where others paused because I was involved in the development of the feature through code reviews.

--

--

Nwanna Joseph

Self motivated Android app developer. I love learning new things, working with people and sharing my knowledge.