Ranking All The Songs On Katy Perry’s Teenage Dream…Fourteen Years Later

Joseph Ream
11 min readFeb 1, 2024

I’ve been wanting to start writing some album rankings/reviews for a while now given that I have far too many opinions when it comes to music and need some form of an outlet that isn’t my friends, who are growing tired of the same four conversations I have with them regarding today’s current state of pop music. That gets us to this article, where I have decided to bestow my first album review to none other than Katy Perry for her massively successful, banger-after-banger, soundtrack to every Millennial’s life, sophomore album Teenage Dream.

If you’re reading this article, you are most likely more than aware of all the details and lore surrounding this record, so I doubt I need to waste time delving into just why this album is a pop masterpiece and laid down the blueprint for a decade’s worth of pop music. Truthfully, I think very few albums can be compared to that of Teenage Dream, given that there aren’t many albums that have as many recognizable tracks as this one. Maybe 1989 by Taylor Swift? Or 21 By Adele? Could we throw Katy’s own Prism into the mix?

Either way, the way in which Katy effortlessly crafted her album aesthetic, honed in on top-notch producers (albeit some controversial ones), and created some of the best and most iconic music videos of all time has created a long lasting and…

--

--

Joseph Ream

✨ I follow back ✨ Writer, poet, & reviewer of all things escapism, whether it be music, books, film, or television.