In Memory of Anthony Bourdain

Joseph Roberti
3 min readJun 12, 2018

I have kept quiet on the Anthony Bourdain situation for the last few days now. While everyone else posted their pictures, memories and condolences, I decided I would like to reflect and figure out the right way to describe how his work has impacted me. Despite the incredible fame he received from his tv shows and the platform they extended to him, I never really watched them. That’s not to say I wasn’t a fan of Bourdain, that is just to say that, those shows were not why I was a fan of Bourdain. The thing I liked most about him was his unfiltered and completely real portrayal of kitchen life. He was completely transparent in his work whether through interviews, articles, or books about what life is like in the kitchen. He is probably one of the main characters who actually shed light on the barbaric personalities and lifestyle you must live to be in a professional kitchen, at least prior to recent times. Bourdain’s biggest contribution to my life was that he showed that a cook can have other talents as well. I have been writing for months now nonstop but have not found anything I wanted to publish. I find it very befitting that this piece might very well be the first thing that I do.
You see, Bourdain spoke of the harsh realities of what kitchen life was like, but never with malice, or dislike, or regret. He spoke of it with humor and praise. This lifestyle of a chef, cook, or any kitchen or restaurant position to be honest is what molded him into becoming the Anthony Bourdain we all know today. The reason why Anthony Bourdain’s persona was not so shock and awe to me as it was to…

--

--

Joseph Roberti

Writer and Business Owner simply publishing what comes to mind in hopes that others can either learn from it or relate to it.