Bots & The Music Industry

Josh Bocanegra
Inside Persona
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2016

I never know when a new song comes out!

When I do, it’s usually through a friend and the conversation goes like this:

Friend: “Did you hear that new song by Eminem?”

You: “Noo!! Where can I listen to it?”

Friend: “You gotta hear it! http://youtube.com/someneweminemsong”

You: “This song is dope!!”

Thank goodness my friends keep me updated, but this doesn’t seem like the best way to remain updated about new music — especially in 2016.

I used to be a musician. And as all musicians know, the hardest part isn’t doing the music, it was getting my music out there.

How we get new music right now is lame.

Sure, I could’ve heard about Eminem’s new song on my newsfeed if there was an article written about it (by a publication I just so happen to be following) or if a friend shared it.

However, that’s all contingent upon me being online to see it — that is, if there’s even an article written about it at all.

I could’ve heard his new song on the radio.

That is, if I’m listening to the particular radio station that plays the song at the time I happened to be listening to the radio.

I also could’ve heard about Eminem’s new song if I were on his email mailing list.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been a fan of Eminem for over 10 years. I’m a HUGE fan, and, um… I’m not on his email mailing list.

To me, it seems like the way record companies release new music is just messy.

There isn’t one great way to do it. And most of the time it requires a big marketing budget.

How new music is released isn’t awesome.

Social media was a godsend for recording artists. For the first time, an artist could share their music with fans directly — kind of.

Although social media is better than what was previously available, artists aren’t the only ones on their fans’ newsfeed. Friends, co-workers, family and other artists are too.

It’s a crowded place. And so the only way to really get in front of fans is to pay for ads.

And that’s even if the ad is seen within the time period the ad is up for.

And guess who likes ads? No one.

How bots will change all of that.

These kind of chatbots will bring people closer to their heroes.

There’s one thing about chatbots that people don’t talk about often. As a marketer, I found this to be one of the core values of chatbots.

Chatbots have the ability to broadcast a message to everyone who interacts with the bot at once.

That’s what email marketing used to be, but this is 10x better.

Of course, with great power comes great responsibility, so it is in your best interest not to abuse this ability.

Chatbots offer one-on-one connection in a world full of newsfeeds.

They require no marketing budget and they give the artist control over how and when they release new music.

Follow the Persona bot for blog updates.

Enjoyed the article? Click the ❤ below to recommend it to other interested readers!

--

--

Josh Bocanegra
Inside Persona

2024 Candidate for U.S. Congress CA-30. Entrepreneur. Nerd. Parent. #CaliforniaForward