My Top Secret Lunch Spot in Columbus, IN

Josh Burnett
3 min readMar 8, 2016

--

I almost don’t want to write this. Part of me wants to keep this secret to myself, it’s that good. There’s a chance if you keep reading, we are going to run into each soon after you try it and you’re going to thank me with a big hug or a firm handshake.

I was a sophomore at Columbus East High School when I discovered it. It was just another “Double lunch” (East alumni know what I’m talk about) when a few friends decided to jump into my green Honda Accord and cruise the Deuce Nickel (what cool high schoolers call 25th Street). We drove past the “other high school” in town and after probably yelling words of how much we loved them, we headed to the best kept secret lunch spot in Columbus.

Since that sunny spring day, I occasionally drove back to The Big Cheese. Whenever I wanted a tasty sandwich with chips and a drink for a price that my high school lunch budget could afford, I’d sneak over. I’d go up to the counter, order the Big Cheese Special with Barbecue Chips and a Mountain Dew.

When we moved back to the Columbus area in January, I knew I needed to get reacquainted with my top secret lunch spot. A few times since, I’ve headed back to The Big Cheese for an affordable lunch full of flavor. It was just as good as I remembered it when I was sixteen.

If you’re going to try The Big Cheese, I’ve got some insider information that will help you enjoy your experience.

1. Bring cash

The Big Cheese is one of the few places in town that still doesn’t accept debit/credit cards. While this can be a little annoying to people who don’t regularly carry cash, I just saved you a disappointing trip to a nearby ATM during your lunch hour. You’re welcome :)

2. Go early or late during lunch time

Be prepared for high schoolers from Columbus North or Columbus Signature AcademyBecause Columbus is one of the best places to go to high school (my opinion), they offer sophomores through seniors to go off campus for lunch. Understanding this, nice spring weather will encourage high schoolers to take advantage of great places like The Big Cheese, either go early (11am-ish) or go later (1230).

3. Check out their menu

Lastly, here is a menu for you to look at ahead of time. Because The Big Cheese is old school, I haven’t seen a menu online or on a Facebook page anywhere (if this incorrect please let me know). Checking out their options ahead of time will allow you to know what you or your co-workers might like if you are picking up lunch for your office.

P.S.I hope you can’t read the small-print menu. You might be tempted to check out The Big Cheese and tell your friends. Then my favorite secret lunch spot won’t be a secret anymore.

The Big Cheese is located at 2403 Cottage Avenue. Their hours are Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Saturday 9am-3pm. Closed on Sundays.

--

--