Why I am running for City Council

Josh Yeager
3 min readFeb 10, 2019

--

https://www.joshyeager.com/about/

Last week, I officially announced my candidacy for Los Angeles City Council. As my press release stated, I am putting the residents of District 12 first. Our campaign will stay above the partisan ruckus that dominates politics and focus on the needs of our community. That means a focus on public safety, improving our city services, safeguarding our quality of life, and effectively managing the homelessness crisis in the North Valley.

As my campaign begins, I wanted to send a note to those dear to me about why I am running for office.

MY TRIP TO OUR NATION’S CAPITAL

I am blessed to come from a family of champions and heroes — and no I’m not just talking about my dad. Sorry dad! I have always been inspired by my grandparents, immigrants who overcame immense struggle to find prosperity and achieve the American dream. I am who I am because of them and the parents they have blessed me with. My story is a traditional, yet unique American story that I will share with you all soon, but it is their story that has driven me to serve whenever possible.

So, I am running for the District 12 seat on the Los Angeles City Council and while I know it’s an uphill climb, I’m willing to earn it. I am running for City Council because I believe that too many of our elected leaders speak, but do not listen. They vote without consulting with the community and too many put their personal careers before our needs. Well I want to change that.

There are basic expectations from government we can all agree on. I will fight for a renewed focus on public safety, improving our city services, safeguarding our quality of life, and effectively managing the homelessness crisis in the North Valley. I believe strongly those are core priorities, but I also believe there is a diversity of opinions as to what additional needs residents desire from local government. I am setting out to find out more about that.

That is why for the next few months I plan to speak to as many members of the community as possible to develop a greater understanding of what is it that the residents of District 12 want and need out of local government. I will ask questions, listen carefully and build an agenda for my campaign based on what the residents tell me directly they would expect of me if I am so blessed to serve.

I know I cannot do this alone, so I am asking for your support as I embark on this next step to bring our voice back to City Hall.

Please follow my journey on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or sign up on our web page, joshyeager.com, to stay updated on my conversations with residents, concerned citizens and every day people throughout the district.

Please also make a contribution to help us spread our community first message and to pay for snacks on the campaign trail.

Paid for by Joshua Yeager for City Council Special 2019, ID# 1414858
9639 Sagebrush Ave., Chatsworth, CA 91311
Additional information is available at ethics.lacity.org

--

--

Josh Yeager

Paid for by Joshua Yeager for City Council Special 2019, ID# 1414858 9639 Sagebrush Ave., Chatsworth, Additional information is available at ethics.lacity.org