CS371p Spring 2023: Joshua Smith

Joshua Smith
2 min readJan 22, 2023

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I spent most of my time working before school becomes hectic with many projects and exams happening at the same time. I did a bit of work throughout the week for my other classes, and spent some time organizing my weekly schedule so I know what to do at different points in the week. I have also been enjoying watching the NFL playoffs this weekend.

What’s in your way?

There is nothing in particular in my way at this moment, and I have a pretty consise plan on how to finish my tasks. The Collatz project deadline is approaching, and I feel like I am making good time. I can quickly get distracted by projects like these, so I have finished my other work due this week to make sure I do not forget.

What will you do next week?

The majority of next week is set aside for finishing up the Collatz project. I will still be working, but I have made sure I have enough time to finish the project by Wednesday. I also have some online classes to take care of later in the week.

What did you think of Paper #2: Makefile?

At first I was struggling to find things to annotate, but after reading the file for a while it clicked, and I got it done. The paper was helpful in understanding some of the commands and tools we will be using for the projects. I am not very fluent with Makefiles, so this was also some good practice to enhance my skills.

What was your experience of unit tests, coverage, and IsPrime? (this question will vary, week to week)

I really enjoyed learning about the unit tests and coverage. I am more of a visual learner, so being able to see how these tools work with the specific commands really helped me understand how these tools worked. It was also interesting to see how it applied to Collatz. I also enjoyed doing the isPrime exercise, because it has been a while since I have done more data structures and algorithms problems, so it was a good introduction back.

What made you happy this week?

I enjoyed having Monday off of school, as I got a nice 3 day weekend.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip for the week is about the importance of true color in computers. https://www.colormatters.com/computer-color-matters This article goes over how color can be distorted, and why an accurate color matters.

--

--