My 5 Defining Realizations

The 5 realizations that have defined me as a teacher…so far

Joshua Da Silva
5 min readSep 9, 2017

I’m not sure who started this trend, but I got the idea for this blog post from Jim Cash, who was inspired by Jonathan So. You can find Jim’s post here and Jonathon’s here.

  1. I Don’t Know Anything

They say “you don’t know what you don’t know” and boy is that ever true in teaching. I had some great instructors in Teacher’s College but there is no way you can teach a teacher everything they need to know in 8 months. Luckily, I had 3 practice teaching blocks during that time, all of which were at great schools with some amazing educators who taught me a lot. However, once I was on my own in a classroom, I realized very quickly how little I knew. How do you find/create resources? How do you build relationships with students and their families from scratch? How do you plan efficiently and effectively so you aren’t going home every night and planning for the next day? How do you organize all of your grading, lesson plans, supply plans, etc? How do you do number talks? How do you set up a balanced literacy program? How many minutes of social studies instruction do I need every week? The list of questions I had was endless. I’ve learned so much in these three years, but the more I learn the more I realize I don’t know. Each question answered breeds new questions and I don’t expect that learning process to ever stop.

2) Seek Out Professional Development Opportunities

Even while I was at OISE I would attend extra workshops after classes or conferences on Saturdays, all offered by the school. Once I graduated I immediately took my first Additional Qualification course online: Special Education Part 1. The more I realized I didn’t know (realization 1), the more I wanted to learn and would seek out the knowledge I wanted. Once key thing I’ve learned is that good PD doesn’t just come from AQ courses, conferences, and staff meetings. By being willing to admit I need help with or don’t know something and reaching out to other educators (either in person or on Twitter) I’ve been able to learn and grow constantly. Through Twitter I’m able to target gaps in my knowledge and find the resources I need to fill them and meet the needs of my students. The best part is that you don’t have to pay hundreds of dollars for it, my PLN is one of the most important resources I have and it hasn’t cost me a cent..

3) The Real Curriculum and What Really Matters

I’ve learned that although curriculum documents may guide the content of a lot of what I’m teaching, these government mandated learning expectations are not the most important lessons I impart over the year. It’s great if my students learn to add 3 digit numbers or understand basic machines by the end of June but more important is their growth as a person and a citizen. If by the end of the year my students are further along the road to being empathetic, responsible, caring and curious lifelong learners who can self-regulate then I’ve done my job regardless of their math skills. These traits can’t be taken for granted and they aren’t necessarily learned at home; there are plenty of adults who are irresponsible and can’t self-regulate and therefore struggle teach it to their children. During the school year my students spend most of their time in my classroom, so why not take advantage? This doesn’t necessarily mean taking time away from academics since you can integrate these lessons into your regular programming but even if it does mean doing a lesson explicitly on self-regulation instead of the language lesson I had planned, I’m ok with that. These traits not only make kids better people they make them better students, which allows us to dive deeper into the academics; they are the foundation to not only good grades, but a good life, and that’s what I want for my students.

4) Don’t be Afraid to Take on New Challenges

Last year, my third year teaching, I was posted to a school as a SERT (Special Education Resource Teacher) for the first time. My job was to support K-2 teachers and students in regards to any special education needs in the classroom. Later in the year I moved to another school support Gr. 5–8 students in the same role. I supported teachers with programming for students with various learning or behavioural needs, connected with parents and community organizations, and held a lot of meetings. I was really nervous to apply to these jobs because I wasn’t sure if I was prepared (both in regards to my knowledge/training and mentally) to work in a special education role but I am so glad I did. I absolutely loved my new role. It was a very different role from being a classroom teacher but it was just as rewarding in its own way. I enjoyed facing new situations that challenged me in a different way then I had been previously and I learned and grew so much, both personally and professionally over that year. This year, I’m back in a classroom, but the experience I had as a SERT has done so much to inform my teaching practice and even if I never return to the role (though I hope I do) I will always be grateful for that year.

5) I am SO Privileged

The final realization I’ve had is just how privileged I am. Working in two different school boards has let me work with all kinds of students from 5 different cities and some of the stories I’ve heard have humbled me. Many of my students, even the youngest, have experienced hardships I could never imagine I am healthy, financially comfortable, I’ve never experienced persecution, war, poverty, violence or trauma. I was born into a middle-class Canadian family which put me in an advantageous position to begin life. I wake up every day knowing I will be safe. Many students in our school have not experienced all, or even any, of these things. The strength these students show is inspiring and I am constantly amazed at the human resiliency on silent display in our schools each and every day. Part of my growth as a teacher has been to recognize my privilege and to never take things for granted or to assume anything of my students because you never know what their story is.

What are your 5 defining realizations as a teacher? Let me know in the comments!

--

--

Joshua Da Silva

K-8 educator. Interested in technology & the future. Camper and terrible golfer.