CS373 Spring 2024 Blog #12: Joshua Yu

Joshua Yu
3 min readApr 14, 2024

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I spent most of my free time playing pickup volleyball in preparation for a tournament I had this weekend. My team didn’t win but we came pretty close in second place. I also spent some time studying for my algorithms class because the current topic is pretty confusing to me and I’ll need to study up if I want to get any related questions correct on the final exam.

What’s in your way?

My group still needs to implement some of the missing features we had from last phase and then polish up the website and get ready to present it. Besides that, the rest of the semester should be pretty smooth sailing. All I have besides our group’s website is to keep studying for my Chinese class and to ensure I’m prepared for my algorithms class exam. That might be a bit difficult but it shouldn’t be too terrible.

What will you do next week?

Next week me and my group will try to figure out how to approach this final phase of the project and we’ll have to finish adding the missing features by the 18th. I’ll also continue studying for my Chinese class, but most importantly I’ll hopefully get some much-needed and long-overdue rest.

What did you think of Paper #12. Why extends is evil.

This week’s paper was pretty similar to the ones from the past couple of weeks as it tackles a programming concept that we’ve been taught since early in our computer science education and explains how it should be avoided due to how it actually breaks object-oriented design and introduces rigidity into codebases.

What did you think of SQL joins, SQL subqueries and refactoring? (This question will vary, week to week.)

All of these SQL features are really interesting and they definitely seem practical. Like I said last week, I’ll definitely make use of them in the future when I’m working in a more backend-oriented role such as for future personal projects.

What made you happy this week?

My parents came up to visit me and my brother and they treated us to Texas Roadhouse. It was really yummy and I finally understand why everyone hypes up their bread rolls.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is to regularly keep up with or clean your email. I myself am personally guilty of having thousands of unread and irrelevant emails in my primary folder on my personal email account, but I’ve been pretty good at keeping up with my school email which I also use as a professional email. This will help you find and identify important emails quicker and could be really important if you have time-sensitive emails, like offers for software engineering roles.

--

--