My 1-Year Transition into UX & UI Design

Josie Artale
4 min readJan 3, 2019

--

It’s hard to believe that a year has gone by since I decided to make a major career change into UX & UI Design. I felt that there is a good chance that this wouldn’t work out, and my dream of being a designer will always just be a dream.

My lack of knowledge and experience may have been a barrier, but I saw it as a challenging opportunity. I always had an interest in design, but I knew there was so much I had to learn if I wanted to be successful in this role. I was fortunate to be working at a tech startup, with talented product and marketing teams who gave me guidance and advice as I embarked on this journey. With some careful thought, I decided that I was ready to go from an office administrator to a UX designer.

I Geeked Out 🤓

I started by completing design tutorials online, read books, listened to podcasts, and basically did whatever I could to improve my skills. After a while of doing this, I realized that design was something I was passionate about. I got to a point where I felt that I needed to go beyond my self-taught practices and get some formal training. It was not only an opportunity to expand my skills and knowledge but to step out of my comfort zone and begin networking as well.

I went ahead and enrolled in part-time courses at BrainStation Toronto. I enrolled in the User Experience Design and User Interface Design courses. I learned a tremendous amount of information, especially in regards to visual design best practices, that I would not have successfully learned on my own. These courses also gave me the opportunity to complete 2 portfolio projects that highlighted the skills I have learned and was given valuable feedback along the way.

Built a Portfolio 💻

After completing my courses I felt prepared. I was confident that I had learned what I needed to in regards to theory, best practices, and was comfortable with the skills I had developed. I had all the knowledge I needed but zero clients. I knew that I was still a ways away from being considered for a UX job, but felt like I was heading in the right direction. I was advised to keep creating my own projects to build up my portfolio, With each project, my skills improved, and I was learning something daily.

I came up with several different projects to include, each highlighting the different skills that I had learned from both my undergrad and design journey. As I created a portfolio full of fake work, my goal was to make others believe that these projects were legitimate, as I feared I wouldn’t be taken seriously as a designer. I focused on showing the steps of my design process so potential employers and clients could see how I worked.

Did Volunteer Work 🙋‍

A way to get started is to contact non-profits, charities, or small businesses and offer your services. I, however, took a different approach and applied for volunteer work online. Through www.unv.org I was able to complete a few projects for some non-profit organizations abroad. This experience was more valuable than the design work itself, but it provided me with the opportunity to work with clients, create a project schedule and even having to overcome time-zone differences.

Volunteer work helped me prepare for designing for clients, collaborating and with others. What I also carried with me from the experience was a focus on accessibility with designing web and print products.

Applied & Handled Rejection 📝

I applied to a countless amount of jobs, which resulted in zero interviews, and a lot of rejection. But I powered through, got feedback to improve my portfolio, and kept at it. The more time I dedicated to improving my skills and educating myself, the more confident I felt in the work I was doing.

As I was still implementing my portfolio feedback, I was offered my first interview, and it resulted in my first contract. I couldn’t believe it, my portfolio entirely of fake work, got me a job! My portfolio was reviewed and by the hiring managers who appreciated my design process and shared the vision I had about creating an accessible online space.

If it wasn’t for all the fake work, and my passion to learn and grow, I’d never been where I am today. I would not have the same knowledge and skills that I have today if I waited around for work to find me. I could have easily quit after receiving rejection emails. But I continued to push myself forward.

I Continue to Geek Out 🤓

I think if you are passionate about something, it’s not so much “work” as it is the dedication to achieving your goals.

At this point, I am just beginning my career as a designer, and have so much to learn. I continue to plan projects that will challenge what I already know and teach me something new. I believe in continuous education staying current in a rapidly growing and moving industry. Attending events, conferences, and taking short courses or workshops are just a few ways I continue to grow as a UX & UI Designer.

--

--