Headless App Development: How SaaS can be Your Secret Weapon in a Competitive Arena

Jos Koomen
12 min readOct 27, 2023
Headless App Development: How SaaS can be Your Secret Weapon in a Competitive Arena — By Jos Koomen

☝️ I’m building a database of available SaaS tools. I would be very thankful if you help me fill it with your favorite tools through this form.
Of course contributors get free access to the dataset in Notion once it’s public.

It’s 2016 when I’m about to visit one of the largest television media companies in the world to talk about a potential collaboration as a freelance developer. At that moment, I loved creating unique, tailor-made applications where every detail was perfect for the user, both front-end and back-end are all made for the user and every pixel and line of code is written with love. After a really good session I left with a wider view about software development. With a lean team, they produced high-performance applications for their own global television formats in just a few weeks.

With the right SaaS tools at their core, they could prioritize innovative features, only creating the middleware (the glue) to stream data efficiently. All their SaaS tools boasted excellent enterprise SLAs with uptime guarantees of 99.97–99.99%. That’s why they could do all the work with a really small team and still had the power to shift quickly if needed.

I often cited this approach as a powerful example to the teams I worked with thereafter, but I would…

--

--

Jos Koomen

I am a Motivator, Leader, Software developer and Family man. Iʼm passionate about shaping engineering teams so they can build great products.