How to (Almost) Disappear Completely

I often wonder how it’s possible to be this sick and still be alive

Joseph Stashko
10 min readJun 20, 2018
Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

For the past few months, I’ve had a recurring dream. I’m running. I’m not running from anything, and there’s nothing hostile about where I am; it’s actually very close to where I live. I run and run, eventually stretching my arms out to either side of me, when a gust of wind picks me up and pulls me into the air. I’m above the pocket of south London where I was born, flying effortlessly. The sun is shining. Then the wind drops. I begin to fall. I am awake.

What I find most arresting about the dream is not so much the flying, it’s the running. It’s something I’ve been unable to do for over 18 months. I became disabled overnight in November 2016, after coming down with a fever and viral symptoms from which I never recovered.

At first, I tried to drag myself into work, noticing small but telling signs that something was wrong. Stairs required a concerted effort, and it felt like the world around my desk was moving slower than it had before, as if it were underwater and I was the only one who couldn’t swim. I developed a permanent sore throat and an overwhelming need to sit down on the train during my morning commute.

This was the norm for two months. Then one morning I woke up and my body seemed…

--

--