Daddy makes music

Jouko Saastamoinen
1 min readDec 16, 2017

For the next six months, I’ll be a stay-at-home dad. Every week between chores and during our son’s naps, I have 5–10 hours to spend on something I like. I’m going to use that time to become the musician I want to be.

Every two weeks, I will upload a track on SoundCloud. Each track will be a finished song. It can be a short one, but it will stand on its own. No samples or loops.

To stay productive, I’ll probably stick to the tools I already know: A laptop, Ableton Live 9 and a drum set I’ve developed with OSCiLLOT by Max for Cats.

I’ve always made music in various ways, but as a solo artist, I’ve never been able to finish a complete song. I’m good at coming up with 4-bar loops, but I always get stuck at that. As an artist, I want to be prolific, steadily produce new songs and continuously develop my sound.

Here’s the first track:

Please comment the track on SoundCloud or in this post. I’ll post all the tracks under the name Contourist on SoundCloud, so follow me there to get each track directly to your SoundCloud feed.

--

--