I met a bad guy. Does it mean I am bad?

I was very naive thinking that all people are good in this world until I met a bad person. Does this mean I’m a bad person?

journey.journal
4 min readFeb 16, 2023
my sweet escape

When I am trying so hard to be a good human being, I forgot that being a good person doesn’t mean you never meet a bad one. There is a reason why there are good and bad people in this life, they will teach you a thing.

God sent me to meet bad people, so I met bad people. Somehow it’s good.

This was arranged by God because He knew that I needed to be warned and taught me that bad things would open my eyes wider and make me aware of all situations.

This is a story about me being warned by God about meeting bad people but I learned many things and realized that I was lucky in an unlucky situation. I hope you also get something from this story.

My Story

So, it all started when I was searching for a place to stay in Banyuwangi for a month. It wasn’t my first time looking for a place to stay here. I did some googling and found some pretty cool options in this Eastern Java.

My plan was to stay at the same place as my friend Upeh, so we could easily hang out during my free time. But her place was already full, so I started looking for a nearby spot to stay.

I still remember the last time I went to Banyuwangi. I saw this place beside Upeh’s place that looked like a good option, so I Googled it and got the phone number. The picture and address matched up, so I sent a text to the number. But, turns out the number belonged to a thief!

They acted all nice and helpful in the text, so I trust it. I got all the info I needed and even got the admin to confirm the location. So, I went ahead and sent the money to book the place.

Finally, I got a rented room and felt less worried and ready to go to Banyuwangi.

Actually, before going to Banyuwangi, my company had a business trip to Bali for a few days. So, I will return to Banyuwangi with my college friends, including Upeh. It was great to have a friend who could start my trip in Banyuwangi.

Before departing to Banyuwangi, I contacted the ‘thief’ (whose identity I still don’t know) the day before checking in to the boarding house. Their response was very responsive until I felt something strange, that is when they asked for my pin number to return my funds. I wondered, why would they need my pin to refund my money (?) but I still thought they might have sent it by mistake.

On the day I arrived at the boarding house, I informed the admin that I would be arriving at 8 p.m. The thief still responded to me, but when I arrived at the location, he couldn’t be contacted and there was no response at all.

I didn’t panic at that time because Upeh was with me (thank God I wasn’t alone). So, Upeh and I sat in the garden area so we wouldn’t get drenched in the drizzling rain.

Shortly thereafter, the boarding house owner (apparently) came up to me and Upeh. This is the moment of truth! The owner said that there was no new room booked in my name. At that moment, I realized that I had been tricked by the thief.

After being scammed by the thief, I was completely drained (since it was already night and I was exhausted from the long trip to Banyuwangi). Upeh suggested that I rest for the night in her room so that I could have a better day tomorrow.

Once I had calmed down, I recounted this experience to my friends in this town. Alhamdulillah, my friends were kind and helped me feel better and safe here.

I feel very fortunate in this unfortunate situation because I am surrounded by good people :’). Alhamdulillah.

Moral story

Until now, I still believe that being good doesn’t always mean you’ll only meet good people. Sometimes, you can also encounter bad people and it doesn’t mean you are bad. Don’t forget, the good ones will save and help you from the bad guys to make you feel safe and protected.

In my story, I was fortunate enough to be surrounded by good people. From that moment, I learned to be more cautious about people and not to trust people easily.

I hope you can take something from this story. Please don’t be like me. Double-checking is a must!

--

--

journey.journal

Hallo, nama aku Lucy. Aku menulis pesan untuk aku di masa depan. Jadi, kalau kamu baca semoga ada pesan baik yang bisa kamu ambil🤍