Day #14: My 3 simple side hustles ideas to get some passive income

David, @journeypreneur
5 min readDec 15, 2022

I’m a tech leader engineer that got laid off recently and so I decided to initiate some small sources of income while I’m looking for a new job.

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

The idea is to enjoy this period (it’s the first time in my career where I don’t have a job), learn how the entrepreneurial world works, and be able to generate my own source of income independently of my job.

One of the worst feelings, when I got laid off, was the feeling of not being able to control what comes next, it’s scary when you know you are doing a tremendous job and suddenly you just get uncovered, without a stable source of income to pay your bills. Luckily, in my case, I was financially comfortable, my financial situation was stable and under control and I’m not a person with a high cost of living (I’m a minimalist person), but even so, it’s scary when you suddenly stop having that guaranteed source of income.

After this situation I decided 2 main things:

  • For my next job, I will prioritize the stability and the strategy of the new company, if they can bring stability to my life for the long term (so, definitely I will not work for a hyper-growth startup anymore), rather than just a great salary;
  • During this period of freedom, I will create as many sources of income as…

--

--