I quit my lipgloss business right before starting it! Even though I still have the items.

This is not too long ago!

Komal
3 min readApr 8, 2024

It has been a few months since I had an adrenaline rush to start a business of any product that I am interested in and people are too.

I was very inspired by lipgloss for small business owners online and wanted to do that so badly.

I ordered everything I needed from lipgloss base gel to make lipgloss of different colors and flavors to thank you cards.

Yes!

I was fully ready.

But I never started it.

Why?

I was already a freelance writer on Upwork as I have mentioned quite a few times in my articles.

All I thought was to bring traffic to my shop by making content online on TikTok and maybe other apps.

But:

  1. I had no latest iPhone.
  2. I did not have much free time.

I am not saying that I couldn’t do it without the latest iPhone but I had to make sure that my content is great. But I had to buy an iPhone and that was something I didn’t want to spend money on at that time.

I was busy with some of my clients and studies.

I ended up not using any of the products I had ordered.

I still have all those beautiful mesmerizing colors in powder form and flavoring oils I ordered for lipglosses.

Why I am sharing this with you?

I probably was too excited to do something I wouldn’t have been able to continue. I believe I was fearing of missing out on making money as a business owner.

Which is my childhood dream to become a business owner.

Photo by Ashley Piszek on Unsplash

But I took the step too fast and ended up quitting before I started.

Therefore, it is important to think deeply about things sometimes.

Whenever we feel way too excited about something, it is important to take a moment and think of it realistically.

I wasted some of my money but that’s okay!

We learn, we grow.

If that thing didn’t happen to me, I couldn’t pass the wisdom today here in the form of an article.

Why I am grateful for quitting that business?

Quitting my business before starting it was a part of my journey to writing on Medium. That was when I got to spend some extra time on Medium and enjoy the words of wisdom here.

Every unpleasant thing leads us to something better (It may take time).

As ALLAH is the best of planners!

What are those lipgloss items doing?

Some of it is resting in my cupboard.

I let my little cousins play with some of it as it is a fun activity for my 10 to 14-year-old cousins to play with it. They made some nice lipglosses for themselves.

--

--

Komal

A Computer Science student who has fallen in love with reading and writing. About me+ Business+Money making+Blogging.