That one time when I told my friend to make her own money đź’°

Her reply made me write this!

Komal
3 min readMar 20, 2024

As most of you know I started going to university a few months ago. I am already done with my first semester, alhamdulillah!

I have made some friends. One of them is a bit closer than the others, probably because she doesn’t leave me alone and we are seen almost everywhere together.

Photo by Xavi Cabrera on Unsplash

After attending classes we go to a cafe and eat food together. I am the one who pays most of the time which I am okay with.

In the very beginning when we were not as friendly as we are now. We were going to the cafe and she suddenly told me, “Komal, you are going to get me food. I don’t have money in my pocket right now.” Then she told the same thing to other of my friends and none of us said anything.

Then I said, “Make your own money, my dear friend. There are many ways online and we are computer science students.” I said this in a friendly, nice tone of course. She then replied, “We as computer science students can’t even press the keys correctly on the keyboard and you expect that we will make some money, lol!”

After this, I didn’t reply with anything but I was thinking about why she said that.

My friends don’t know about my blog on Medium and they also don’t know about my freelance journey. I just like to keep those things private and avoid mentioning them with unlike-minded people.

I do share it sometimes with some people after I am a little sure about the reaction of that person.

But here in university, I like to keep these things private especially because if even one or two of them come to know about this, slowly by slowly the whole class will know it and I won’t be able to share my stories and experiences confidently anymore in the way I do because I am an introvert and private person. I like to stay unknown on social media or even Medium. Therefore they don’t know what I do other than studies and learning to code.

So…….

After my friend said that to me, I was thinking that it is us as humans who stop ourselves from being amazing. When I was 10 years old, I would think that anyone who has achieved success in life at age 25+ is because they are older and I am younger.

I can’t keep that mindset now, anymore! I am 21 and many of my friends are 20 or older. We all are capable of doing things and achieving something that others have achieved at the age of 30+ or maybe 50+.

Age isn’t the matter here. People (who have achieved success) older than us are not any different than us other than our mindsets.

Now, mindset alone isn’t enough. One needs action, self-confidence, and no fear of losing.

The younger you are and understand the growth mindset, the better it is.

Stop comparing yourself to others.

Everyone has achieved things in life differently. Be the main character of your own story rather than fitting your character in someone else’s story.

The type of success we want is way more than possible to achieve. It just has a path that we need to start taking steps on.

Why am I writing this?

I wanted to share this with anyone who has self-doubt or talks rubbish about themselves. Don’t ever think that you aren’t capable of something or you can’t be the best. You can be the best in your way.

--

--

Komal

A Computer Science student who has fallen in love with reading and writing. About me+ Business+Money making+Blogging.