Are Sensitive Introverts Neurodivergent?

Here is what I found.

Joy Taiwo
2 min readApr 25, 2024
Photo by Mulyadi on Unsplash

Neurodiversity is the concept that there is a natural variation in the human brain that leads to differences in how we think and behave.

Let me break it down.

Neurodiversity = neurological diversity

Design by me

Different brains work differently.

Our brains are configured to operate and absorb information in unique ways, and these variations are natural, there is no need to try to change them.

Neurological differences can show up in the following ways:

  1. Social understanding: how we perceive people and relate with them.
  2. Sensory processing: how our senses (touch, taste, smell, hearing, sight) process stimuli.
  3. Communication: how we share our thoughts and feelings.
  4. Information processing: how we receive data and process it.

According to research, Highly Sensitive Introverts (HSI) show differences in their social understanding, sensory processing, how they process information and how they communicate; hence, HSIs are neurodivergent.

Here, you can find out who is a highly sensitive introvert.

If you try to force a neurodivergent brain to work neurotypically, it will malfunction and suffer burnout, anxiety, depression and other mental health disorders.

Introverted Sensitivity is not something we choose to have, its what we’re born with.

Neurodivergence is not our choice, and it is not a negative thing.

In fact, it has many benefits for humanity.

Neurodivergent people are valuable to humanity in the following ways and more:

  1. They think differently
  2. They have high levels of innovation and creativity
  3. They have highly specialized skill sets
  4. They look at things from unexpected angles
  5. They think outside the box
  6. They bring new solutions to long-time problems
  7. They have the ability to hyperfocus

Struggles growing up

I wish I had known early in my life that I was a sensitive introvert. If I had known the strengths and beauty of sensitive introversion, I would not have struggled with low self-esteem and the feeling that I was just not enough for this loud and busy world.

It is my hope that with my writing, I can help HSIs who are lost discover themselves and embrace and nurture their difference.

I found this video very helpful in understanding neurodivergence.

As an HSI, I use these tools to release repressed feelings and nurture my sensitivity:

  1. Bold Text Stress Relieving Coloring Book
  2. Relaxation Reading
  3. Unburden and Thrive + E-journal

--

--

Joy Taiwo

Highly Sensitive Person (Introvert). Certified in Psychological First-Aid