Your Morning Routine Won’t Work without This

Boost Your Focus and Efficiency in the Morning.

Joydeep Biswas
2 min readFeb 26, 2023
  • You plan your to-do list the night before.
  • You sleep early and wake up early.
  • You begin the first task of the day.
  • You’re feeling good.
  • You’re in the flow.

And then something happens, and you find yourself at 11:39 a.m. doing the second task on your to-do list.

What happened to all the planning and the brilliant start to the day?

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

It’s a small device in your pocket, on your table, or on your bed. It controls you. And it can make or ruin your day.

I think you know what I am talking about.

Yes, it’s your phone.

It dings, you pick it up, and suddenly you’ve wasted an hour in the morning.

“Lose an hour in the morning, and you will spend all day looking for it.”

― Richard Whately

Photo by Pradamas Gifarry on Unsplash

Frankly, it happened to me too.

Until I discovered this technique. Actually, it’s not even a technique. It’s that simple.

But it’s not easy.

Don’ touch your phone for 2 hours after you wake up.

Yes. That’s what I do every morning.

I write my to-do list on paper the night before and simply follow it in the morning.

And I keep my phone on the table and not on my bed when I sleep.

After I wake up, I have no connection with my phone for 2 hours.

My focus and efficiency are way better than before.

I don’t know the specifics of what happens when you check your phone in the morning versus when you don’t.

All I know is that it works for me.

Try it, and let me know how your productivity increases.

PS:

It’s hard. You will want to use your phone, check your messages, or use social media. You WILL HAVE TO RESIST. Keep your phone away from you, preferably in another room. Do your work. The world can wait.

--

--

Joydeep Biswas

I walk, think, and write. || Self-improvement and the Art of Writing.