word vomit — shift responses.

possiblyjoyce
3 min readNov 10, 2022

--

a post possibly by joyce

shift response: a way someone speaks that brings the conversation back to them. whether it be self deprecating or fishing for compliments, u can be sure they won’t shut up about themselves. :)

*sorry for the lack of punctuation…

who? me? thanks for asking, I have a lot to say. first, how was your day because let me tell you, mine was absolutely insane.

photoshoots, constant color, interviews, collaborations never enough time.
I overheard you say you got like three hours of sleep last night. well, I got zero in the past week.

it’s so hard being an artist. my creativity is my body you wouldn’t understand and that’s totally fine, like seriously though.

tell me about yourself. I want to know more about you. i wish i was just like you because sometimes it’s all too much for me. wait! i just remembered a story i have to tell you. sorry to cut you off but if i don’t say it now i’ll forget.
You don’t mind right? Of course you don’t, great!

my story my brain my mind my mouth my words my art my my my i i i me me me oh wait you! how about us?
let’s take a photo. you’re so pretty, I’m so ugly. no seriously look at me no seriously look at me. listen to me, you’re such a great listener.

ugh i got no sleep. I told you that already, didn’t i? I don’t remember. i’m just saying words and will forever say words. and when you talk i’ll have a story on queue in my mind because i know what to say. I always know what to say. I know what I want to say. Is it my turn yet? has it always been my turn? please let it still be my turn, i’d be so bored otherwise.

I love our talks. Our endless conversation, this is a conversation.
You’re here, im here, i’m talking talking talking talking talking always talking.

Speak bark meow quack moo oink, dont we all want attention! WE? oh right, you! what’s on your mind you seem so smart, im dumb like actually stupid.

ah stop you’re just saying that. everyone always says that to me, i always get that. I love when people speak their truth. I’m just learning to speak my truth. I do love to speak. my lips are so big i just can’t help it. its genetics, to speak, not the big lips.

let me say, wow time flies when i’m talking to you, you’re so cool. I’ve got a lot to say. some people tell me to shut the fuck up but thats rude. people are rude, let me speak. let me speak. let me speak.

wait, don’t go! I still have so much more to say. I feel like I’ve said nothing. nothing of importance. nothing at all. come back I’m still talking to you, I never even finished my story. I never even started my story.

I’ll call you, I’ll text you, this was fun, we’re so fun, you’re so fun, I am so fun. great talk.

[a piece + collage inspired by Charles Derber’s “The Pursuit of Attention”]

. possiblyjoyce ❤️

--

--

possiblyjoyce

interests include: fashion, poetry, design + production in all forms of entertainment (exhibits, tv\film, music videos, ect.)