My Writing is Finally Published in the New York Times (Modern Love Podcast)

JoyRoute
4 min readJul 12, 2022

Tiny Love Stories.

Photo by David Smooke on Unsplash

Sept 6: Since I wrote this story Vacation Bae and I were on the Modern Love Podcast. I’ll update this story when show airs.

I ran inside the Diner wearing flimsy flip-flops, comfortable but dangerous in a rainstorm. I looked like a mad woman. I screamed a tornado is coming to a waitress and a group seated at pulled together tables.

No one blinked, and I took a seat in a booth. If they were not worried maybe it’s not serious.

It was treacherous outside. I pulled off the highway into the Diner’s parking lot and began skimming through my emails. I did a double-take when I saw an email with the subject line: Tiny Love Stories.

The email was from an editor at the New York Times asking if I had time to chat any time after 4 pm. There was no time to savor the moment because just as I finished reading the email, I received a warning text from the National Weather Service:

It read: TORNADO WARNING in this area until 3:30 pm EDT. Take shelter now in a basement or an interior room on the lowest floor of a sturdy building.

WTF.

The text is the reason I fled my vehicle into the Diner. The tornado hit. Two of them. Near the Diner.

--

--

JoyRoute

Bestselling author of 'How to Outline a Nonfiction Book.' Crafting personal essays on tales of travel, true crime, and about whatever strikes my fancy