Sun Tea

takeout
3 min readSep 16, 2021

--

This recipe is so trivial, I even find it difficult to put it. The fact is that I love cold tea and I don’t know almost anyone who knows how to make sun tea. So I’m going to explain how to prepare it.

I always drink tea without sugar. I like cold tea that way too. The cold teas that they sell ready-made are all very sweet. It is best to make the tea at home because we can use sachets of higher quality and of our preferred type. In addition, we can flavor them to our liking.

Sun tea is a very Californian drink. When I was in California many years ago (I already told you about it at the jalapeño jam entrance and at the salty Chinese chicken entrance ), I learned how to make tea from the sun. There was a chain of supermarkets, very big and very cheap, that I loved. It was called Target. Now it has already spread throughout the United States. One day I saw the container there to make the tea of ​​the sun and I bought it. Although it seems incredible, I brought it in my suitcase.

You don’t really need any special container. All you need is a large glass jar.

If you’ve ever tried to make cold tea at home, you’ve probably boiled the water, put the tea bags in, removed the bags after a while, and cooled the tea. What happens, if you do it like this, is that it forms like a layer of grease on the surface of the water. In addition, the tea takes on a somewhat bitter taste.

To make sun tea you don’t have to boil water. Put cold water in the pot, place the sachets and the flavorings that we want (cinnamon, peppermint)

The tea is put in the sun (or in the light, if it is not very sunny) for an hour.

The bags are removed and the refrigerator.

It is perfect, with no greasy film or bitterness.

It is kept in perfect condition for several days.

I used green tea, which was already in the sachets flavored with cinnamon and spearmint. At the time of serving, I put a lot of ice and a cinnamon stick.

--

--