What I Have Learned So Far as a New Writer on Medium

There is more to writing on Medium than just writing.

Jacquline Dacres
5 min readApr 4, 2023
Photo by Daniel Öberg on Unsplash

If you Google “How do I start writing on Medium”, the first response is:

First, make a free account. Then, to create a story, click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page, then “Write a Story.” — Medium.com

Sounds simple, doesn’t it? It is in fact that simple.

However, to write consistently on Medium, there is a lot that goes into making that happen.

Here is what I have learned and implemented so far.

1) Developing a writing system

Creating a schedule

I make a list of all the activities that I will be doing each day. I also record the times when I will be doing each activity.

It is like a student’s timetable. For example, on my schedule, from 6:00 am to 6:20 am, I am writing the first draft of an article. From 6:30 am to -7:30 am, I am exercising.

I allocate time for everything. It is not perfect, and I am tweaking it as I go along.

I am more organized and focused since I have created a schedule and I am able to accomplish my goals for each day.

Despite this, there are some days when nothing will go as scheduled. There are unforeseen events and emergencies. But this is a part of living and so I have come to peace with that.

Writing in blocks

This is a technique that I learned from reading the works of Neera Mahajan and Eve Arnold.

When I first started, I would sit and try to write an entire article all at once. Now, at the start of the day, I spend 15–20 minutes writing down my thoughts without editing.

During the middle of the day, I will return to the article. I will add more information and thoughts if necessary for another 15–20 minutes. Later in the day, I will start to do editing. Editing is continuous after that.

The point is that everything related to writing is done in 15–20 minutes blocks with numerous breaks in between.

Developing a writing process

I decide on the topic the night before. I will then write down a few ideas related to the topic. By doing this, I don’t wake up wondering what to write. This leads me to the next point.

Capturing my thoughts and ideas

I now pay more attention to what is going on around me. I pay attention to my thoughts and my memories of events. As soon as I have a thought or an insight, I record it.

Currently, I am using the Notes feature on my phone. But this is unsustainable. I am planning to upgrade to another tool such as Notion or Trello which I have heard a lot about.

2) Embrace networking

This is a new one for me. I am an introvert. Engaging with even people that I know is something that I find difficult.

However, I am realizing that in the online writing world, to grow you must engage with others.

Engaging with others is helping me to build my network of supporters. Having the support of like-minded people is great. They offer encouragement, advice, and motivation. Thanks to Ornella Davis who consistently engages with me.

3) Taking breaks

Aside from writing, I am exploring other interests. For example, I am learning how to code in Python. I am told that AI will make coding useless, but I am unfazed.

I find that taking breaks to do other interesting things is refreshing. When I return to writing I do not feel as overwhelmed.

Doing other things is also helping me to recharge and stay productive.

On the weekends, I take things even slower.

4) Read the work of other writers

One of the best things about having Medium membership is that I get to enjoy endless amounts of other people’s work. I would recommend that anyone who is serious about writing on the platform to become a paid member.

So far, I have seen the different writing styles of others and the variety of topics that they write on. I have read beautiful short stories, poems, long essays, scholarly articles, and everything in between.

Reading their work is helping me to grow and evolve as a writer. This leads me to the next thing:

5) Working at my own pace

Some writers on Medium publish an article daily. I find that admirable and I want to get there one day.

Publishing two articles per week is what I am striving for right now. I am currently at one. However, this does not mean that I am not writing every day.

Someday soon, I will get to the point where I can publish three or four articles per week.

For now, I am taking “baby steps” and that’s okay with me. One day, I will be running. For now, I will concentrate on learning, writing, and finding out what works best for me.

6) Recognize that everyone is at a different stage of their writing journey

There are writers on Medium who are beside me, ahead of me, and far ahead of me.

The writers who are far ahead of me are my inspiration. They make me realize what is possible with determination and consistency.

It is the writers beside me and ahead of me that I have found to be the most supportive so far. For example, Lauren Coggins was the second person who followed me. In doing so, she gave me the motivation to continue writing on Medium.

I also support the writers beside me and ahead of me by reading their articles. I clap and leave a comment for them if necessary.

Final thoughts

I know that I have a lot more to learn.

As I learn more, I will add to this article. I will also change as time passes. When I do, I will make amendments to this article. For now, I am a work in progress!

So far, I have learned to:

  1. Develop a writing system.
  2. Embrace networking.
  3. Take breaks.
  4. Read the work of other writers.
  5. Work at my own pace.
  6. Recognize that everyone is at a different stage of their writing journey.

© Jacquline Dacres 2023. All Rights Reserved

You can follow me on:

Twitter and LinkedIn where I share my ideas on personal development and my writing journey.

--

--

Jacquline Dacres

Educator, writer & and author | Encouraging everyone to share their stories to educate and inspire others| Writes on mindset and personal growth.