Freelance Genius Day 3

Julian Pollock
1 min readMar 18, 2020

--

It is march 13th and the outbreak has become immediately relevant to my daily life

I am not in my right mind when I make plans to spend part of my night with not one, but two magicians

this is awful

“Pov: I’m calling out for help but I already know nobody cares so I just wait”

I am watching a tic toc of an acquaintance crying while looking searchingly into their front facing camera

the video is particularly disheartening as it only has two likes

I feel compelled to reach out, to care, but the effort is beyond me

can’t win em all

I love reading the Wikipedia’s of people with only one widely regarded achievement

how it skims over their formative years and education in five hundred words

then you get to the heading like “Involvement in Winter 1983 Bombing” and it ramps up

You aren’t allowed to smile for census id photos, the officemax employee informs me

“can I frown?”

she does not hear

the man who came before me looked way too old to be out doing door-to-door census work during a pandemic

I frown for my photo, but it doesn’t turn out the way I wanted

she doesn’t retake the photo

--

--