My Interview with TWISTA

James Alexander
1 min readAug 14, 2019

I had a lot of fun (finally) chatting with Mark Pesce for This Week in Startups Australia.

In particular, I ask the question “why do we incentivise young people to dumb, safe things” early on in their careers when they can potentially take on huge amounts of risk? This is something I think about a lot and always interested in other people’s thoughts on this.

We chat about:

  • My first exposure with tech companies and how I got into
  • The story of how INCUBATE started and how we tested it before we had a program
  • Why INCUBATE grants are $5k till this day
  • 4 principles in designing mentoring programs
  • What I’m doing next!

More from me

Please sign up to my personal newsletter if you like what you read :)

--

--

James Alexander

Launching a new global seed fund and accelerator. Founder at Galileo Ventures and previously INCUBATE, Australia’s largest university startup accelerator.